Slovenia Country Mosaic
1008 of 1114

Slovenia Country Mosaic

January 17, 2006
Slovenia is one of the six states that borders on Italy. It is a small country situated to the northwest extremity of the Adriatic Sea. Slovenia is bounded on the north by Austria, on the northeast by Hungary, on the southeast and south by Croatia and on the west by Italy. The territory is mostly mountainous (the Alps and the Pre Alps), with many natural caves and caverns. Three major rivers of the Slovenia territory are the Drava, the Mura and the Sava. One of Slovenia's main economic activities is lumber production, as the country is doted with extensive alpine forests. Maribor and Capodistria, and also Nova Gorica, just on the border with Italy, are important cities of Slovenia, after the capital and largest city, Ljubljana.

Technical Information:
  • Satellite: Envisat
  • Instrument: MERIS
  • Center coordinates: lat. 46.15, lon. 15.09

comments powered by Disqus