Lithuania Country Mosaic
811 of 1114

Lithuania Country Mosaic

January 18, 2006
Lithuania is one of the three Baltic states (the others being Latvia and Estonia) that joined the European Union (EU-25) last May. It gained its independence in 1991 from the USSR. Most of the country consists of low-lying plains. Vilnius, the capital, is situated towards the southeast. About 3 million people live in Lithuania. 68 percent of the population lives in urbanized areas, of which Vilnius, Kaunas and Klaipeda are the major centers.

Technical Information:
  • Satellite: Envisat
  • Instrument: MERIS
  • Center coordinates: lat. 55.27, lon. 23.54

comments powered by Disqus