Last updated on April 17, 2014 at 15:58 EDT
Canary Islands Atlantic Ocean
605 of 1101

Canary Islands, Atlantic Ocean

January 20, 2006
This Medium Resolution Imaging Spectrometer (MERIS) Image is of the Canary Islands an autonomous region of Spain. From the west the islands are; El Hierro, La Palma, Gomera, the largest Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote.

The area comprises of two provinces Las Palmas and Santa Cruz de Tenerife their capitals of the same name are situated on Gran Canaria and Tenerife respectively. The Islands are of volcanic origin, and volcano forms can be clearly seen on Gran Canaria, La Palma, Gomera and particularly Tenerife where we can see the now dormant Pico de Teide at 3,715 m the highest of the peaks.

Technical Information:
  • Satellite: Envisat
  • Instrument: MERIS
  • Acquisition: 10-Jan-2005
  • Orbit nr: 14978
  • Center coordinates: lat. 26.25, lon. -15.38