The United Kingdom
2744 of 4102

The United Kingdom

February 25, 2007

The clouds on February 14, 2007, parted above the United Kingdom just enough for the MODIS on the Terra satellite to capture this image.

Shown here are England, Scotland (which is north of England, on the same island), Wales (also on the same island, but west of England, and Northern Ireland, which occupies the northern part of Irish island. Ireland itself is mostly covered by clouds in this image. Black lines show the country borders on the larger images.

The United Kingdom, or UK, is made up of four of these countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The UK is bounded by water on all sides, including the Atlantic Ocean and its ancillary bodies of water, including the North Sea, the English Channel, the Celtic Sea, and the Irish Sea.

comments powered by Disqus