Last updated on April 20, 2014 at 8:28 EDT
The Iberian Peninsula
2323 of 3851

The Iberian Peninsula

August 16, 2007

The cloudless sky revealed the Iberian Peninsula on August 4, 2007. The MODIS on the Aqua satellite captured this true color image. The Iberian Peninsula consists of Portugal (east), Spain (west), and Andorra (not visible). The peninsula is bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the south and east, by the Bay of Biscay to the north and by the Atlantic Ocean to the west.

Also visible is the Straight of Gibraltar, the passageway separating Spain from Morocco in Africa. It is only 8 miles wide at the narrowest point.