June 15 2007 - The Baltic Sea Region
53 of 59

June 15, 2007 - The Baltic Sea Region

February 18, 2008
Shown in this image is the Baltic Sea and the countries that surround it. To the left is Sweden, and to the right, from north to south is Finland, Estonia, Latvia, and Lituania. Black lines denote country borders. This image was captured on June 3, 2007 by the MODIS on the Terra satellite.

There are several islands just west of Estonia, where you can see greenish phytoplankton blooms. Also in Estonia, near the city of Pärnu, the Pärnu Bay is colored brownish by sediment from the Pärnu River.

comments powered by Disqus