Last updated on April 17, 2014 at 10:32 EDT
Portrait of Astronaut group three
7 of 8

Portrait of Astronaut group three

April 8, 2003
Portrait of Astronaut Group Three announced on Oct. 18, 1963. They are (seated, left to right) Edwin E. Aldrin Jr., William A. Anders, Charles A. Bassett II, Alan L. Bean, Eugene A. Cernan, and Roger B. Chaffee. Standing (left to right) are Michael Collins, R. Walter Cunninham, Donn F. Eisele, Theodore C. Freeman, Richard F. Gordon Jr., Russell L. Schweickart, David R. Scott and Clifton C. Williams Jr.