3750 of 4108


May 19, 2004
This Medium Resolution Imaging Spectrometer (MERIS) image, over the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria, a republic of western North Africa, is bounded on the north by the Mediterranean Sea on the east by Tunisia and Libya, on the south by Niger, Mali, and Mauritania and on the west by Morocco. Its total area is 2,381,741 sq km. Algeria has four main physical regions, which extend east to west across the country in parallel zones. In the north, along the Mediterranean coast and extending inland for 80 to 190 km, is the Tell. The region consists of a narrow and discontinuous coastal plain backed by the mountainous area of the Tell Atlas, a range of the Atlas Mountains system. The numerous valleys of this region contain most of Algeria's arable land. The country's principal river, the Chelif (725 km/450 mi long), rises in the Tell Atlas and flows to the Mediterranean Sea; no permanent streams are found south of the Tell.

comments powered by Disqus