Quantcast
Tropical Cyclone Bingiza 13S over Madagascar
1120 of 3923

Tropical Cyclone Bingiza (13S) over Madagascar

February 18, 2011
The tightly-curved convective bands of Tropical Cyclone Bingiza covered northern Madagascar on the morning of February 14, 2010, when the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard the Aqua satellite passed overhead and acquired this natural-color image.

The storm first made landfall on February 13, at approximately 22:17 UTC (5:17 p.m. EST) on the northeast coastline, and the center of the cyclone crossed land on February 14 at 06:00 UTC (1:00 a.m. EST) after crossing the Masola Peninsula. This image was captured at 10:35 UTC (5:35 a.m. EST), less than five hours later.

Although the eye of Cyclone Bingiza has become indistinct, the storm is still tightly wrapped around a well-defined low-level circulation center, and continues to draw energy from the warm waters of the Southern Indian Ocean. The maximum sustained winds over land were measured shortly before this image was captured at 85 knots (98 mph / 157 kmh). The strongest thunderstorms were located over north central Madagascar and over the Mozambique Channel, and accompanied by the highest and coldest (-63F/-52C) cloud tops.

On the morning of February 16, the Risks and Disasters Management National Bureau (BNGRC) reported that at least 2,663 had been left homeless in Madagascar and that property of unknown value had been destroyed. The Bureau also warned residents of the affected areas to move to higher grounds, because of concerns about rising sea level. At the time of the statement, the BNGRC expected difficulties with Bingiza to spread southward, due to flooding and continuing rainfall.


comments powered by Disqus