18 of 68


June 8, 2011
The STS-91 crew and the Mir-25 cosmonauts currently manning Russia's space station pose for the final joint inflight NASA-Mir portrait in the core module. Left to right are Valery V. Ryumin, Wendy B. Lawrence, Charles J. Precourt, Andrew S.W. Thomas, Talgat Musabayev, Janet L. Kavandi, Dominic C. Gorie, Nikolai Budarin and Franklin R. Chang-Diaz. Ryumin represents the Russian Aviation and Space Agency. Thomas ended up spending 141 days in space on this journey, including time aboard Endeavour and Discovery, which delivered and retrieved him to and from the Mir, respectively. Later the Discovery made the final undocking of an American Shuttle from the Mir complex, leaving Musabayev and Budarin, the current Mir crewmembers, behind. A pre-set 70-mm camera recorded the portrait. Photo Credit: National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Russian Aviation and Space Agency.

comments powered by Disqus