8 of 68


June 8, 2011
Six plus one equals seven, as the STS-91 crew is joined by Andrew S.W. Thomas (second right, top row) for its traditional inflight crew portrait aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery. Thomas had earlier joined the NASA crew following a four-month stay aboard Mir. The crew includes: bottom, from the left, Charles J. Precourt, mission commander; Janet L. Kavandi, mission specialist; and Franklin R. Chang-Diaz, payload commander; and top, from the left, Dominic C. Gorie, pilot; along with mission specialists Wendy B. Lawrence, Thomas and Valery V. Ryumin. Ryumin represents the Russian Aviation and Space Agency.

comments powered by Disqus