1 of 227


June 9, 2011
Five astronauts based at NASA's Johnson Space Center (JSC) and two payload specialists take a break from their training regimen to pose for the preflight portrait. Seated are astronauts Curtis L. Brown Jr. (right), commander; and Steven W. Lindsey, pilot. Standing, from the left, are Scott E. Parazynski and Stephen K. Robinson, both mission specialists; Chiaki Mukai, payload specialist representing Japan's National Space Development Agency (NASDA); Pedro Duque, mission specialist representing the European Space Agency (ESA); and United States Senator John H. Glenn Jr., payload specialist. The seven are scheduled to be launched into Earth orbit aboard the Space Shuttle Discovery in late October.

comments powered by Disqus