174 of 203


June 16, 2011
JSC Director George W.S. Abbey introduces the returning STS-99 crew to a large crowd in Ellington Field's Hangar 990 during welcoming ceremonies on February 23, 2000. Astronaut Kevin R. Kregel, mission commander, stands near Abbey at the lectern. Other crew members, from the left, are astronauts Mamoru Mohri, Gerhard P.J. Thiele, Janet L. Kavandi, Dominic L. Gorie and Janice Voss. Mohri is with Japan's National Space Development Agency (NASDA), and Thiele represents the European Space Agency (ESA). Following an 11-day mission in Earth orbit, the crew and the Space Shuttle Endeavour landed at KSC on February 22 and spent the night in Florida before returning to Houston.

comments powered by Disqus