112 of 199


June 29, 2011
The crews of the Space Shuttle Atlantis and International Space Station (ISS) interrupt work aboard the newly installed Destiny laboratory to pose for an in-flight joint group portrait. In front are (from the left) cosmonaut Sergei K. Krikalev, Expedition One flight engineer; astronaut William M. (Bill) Shepherd, Expedition One mission commander; and Yuri P. Gidzenko, Soyuz commander. The shuttle crew is made up of (from the left) astronauts Mark L. Polansky, pilot; Kenneth D. Cockrell, mission commander; and Marsha S. Ivins, Robert L. Curbeam and Thomas D. Jones, all mission specialists. Krikalev and Gidzenko represent the Russian Aviation and Space Agency.

comments powered by Disqus