1 of 229


August 19, 2011
(left to right) William H. Gerstenmaier, associate administrator for Space Operations; Rex Geveden, associate administrator; and Dr. Michael Griffin, NASA administrator, welcome home STS-121 crewmembers--Steven Lindsey, commander; Mark E. Kelly, pilot; and Michael E. Fossum, mission specialist--after the landing of the Space Shuttle Discovery and conclusion of mission STS-121. The crew of seven tested new equipment and procedures to improve shuttle safety, as well as deliver supplies and make repairs to the International Space Station.

comments powered by Disqus