Quantcast
Typhoon Prapiroon
541 of 3932

Typhoon Prapiroon

October 14, 2012
Typhoon Prapiroon slowed and became nearly stationary in the Philippine Sea in early October, 2012. NASA's Terra satellite passed over the storm on October 11 at 0210 UTC (10:10 p.m. EDT, Oct. 10), allowing the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument flying aboard to capture this true-color image, which shows a clearly defined, but small and ragged, eye. Taiwan can be seen to the northwest of the storm, while the Philippines, to the southwest, are covered with rain bands.

By 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT) on Oct. 11, Typhoon Prapiroon's maximum sustained winds were reported at near 109 mph (175 km/h). It was located about 478 miles (769 km) south of Kadena Air Base, Okinawa, Japan, and was spinning nearly in place. Two ridges (elongated areas) of high pressure were affecting the storm, effectively holding it at a temporary standstill.

By early morning on October 12, Typhoon Prapiroon had begun to drift northeastward at a slow 4 mph, with a nearly-steady strength. Maximum sustained winds were reported of 105 mph (169 km/h).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center forecasts that the storm will continue tracking slowly northeastward over the next 72 hours. It may strengthen slightly through October 14, although there should be a generally weakening trend after that time.

Credits: Jeff Schmaltz, MODIS Land Rapid Response Team, NASA GSFC


comments powered by Disqus