XMM-Newton Telescopes
113 of 289

XMM-Newton Telescopes

January 25, 2013
Each of the three XMM-Newton telescopes consists of: the mirror assembly door, which protected the optics during integration, launch and early orbit phase the entrance baffle, which provides visible straylight suppression at angles larger than 47° the X-ray baffle the mirror module an electron deflector, which produces a circumferential magnetic field which prevents low energy electrons reflected by the mirrors reaching the focal plane detectors the Reflection Grating Array (only in two of the three telescopes) the exit baffle, which provides an appropriate thermal environment ESA

comments powered by Disqus