Quantcast
Last updated on April 17, 2014 at 1:21 EDT
Separation Anxiety Over for Deep Impact
53 of 67

Separation Anxiety Over for Deep Impact

August 17, 2005
This image of Deep Impact's impactor probe was taken by the mission's mother ship, or flyby spacecraft, after the two separated at 11:07 p.m. Pacific time, July 2 (2:07 a.m. Eastern time, July 3). The impactor is scheduled to collide with comet Tempel 1 at 10:52 p.m. Pacific time, July 3 (1:52 a.m. Eastern time, July 4). The impactor can be seen at the center of the image.