Quantcast
Tropical Storm Kajiki
147 of 3939

Tropical Storm Kajiki

February 5, 2014
In late January, 2014 Tropical Storm Kajiki brought wind and heavy rainfall over the central Philippines. The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Aqua satellite flew over the storm on January 31 at 04:45 UTC (12:45 p.m. Philippine Time -PHT) and captured this true-color image as Kajiki approached the Visayas region of the Philippines.

The storm formed from the second tropical depression of the Northwestern Pacific Ocean season, and at the time the image was captured the storm was still at tropical depression statues. At 1500 UTC (11:00 p.m. PHT time) that same day Kajiki's maximum sustained winds were near 34.5 mph (55.5 km/h). The depression was located near 9.8 north latitude and 126.1 east longitude, about 527 miles (848.2 km) southeast of Manila, Philippines, and was moving to the west at 16 mph (26 km/h).

By 18:00 UTC that same day (2:00 a.m. PHT on February 1) Kajiki strengthened to Tropical Storm status, with winds of 40 mph (64 km/h). Its time at Tropical Storm strength was limited, however. By 09:00 UTC (5:00 p.m. PHT) the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) issued its final bulletin on Kajiki. By that time, the storm had weakened to a depression and had maximum sustained winds near 34.5 mph (55.5 km/h) and was located about 196.8 miles (316.7 km) south of Manila, Philippines, near 11.8 north latitude and 121.5 east longitude. At that time the depression was moving over Palawan.

Although Kajiki was a short-lived and relatively weak tropical storm, it soaked areas in the central Philippines which are still struggling to recover from a 7.2 magnitude earthquake in 2013, and from Typhoon Haiyan, which struck in November of 2013 and killed over 6,000 in the central Philippines alone.

As Kajiki swept through the area, over 18,000 people evacuated their homes. Three people died, two from drowning and one from electrocution. The storm, also named Basyang locally, was reported to cause flooding and landslides, damaging over 80 homes.

Credits: Jeff Schmaltz, MODIS Land Rapid Response Team, NASA GSFC



comments powered by Disqus