Last updated on April 23, 2014 at 13:57 EDT

NATSO Applauds Senate Committee’s Commitment to Transportation, Safety and Jobs

November 9, 2011

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Nov. 9, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — NATSO, the national association representing truckstops and travel plazas, today applauded the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee for unanimously approving a bipartisan two-year highway reauthorization bill.

The Senate EPW voted 18-0 to approve S. 1813, also known as MAP21, which would fund the nation’s transportation program for two years at current funding levels.

NATSO President and CEO Lisa Mullings said, “We applaud Senate EPW Committee Chairwoman Barbara Boxer, Ranking Member James Inhofe, and the entire committee for approving MAP21, which would create hundreds of thousands of jobs, make our roads safer, and reduce the time professional drivers and other motorists waste in highway gridlock. We urge full Senate passage of this important legislation.”

Mullings also expressed support for a specific provision that would devote more funding to truck parking. Under a section titled “Jason’s Law,” the bill would authorize states to use certain appropriated dollars for truck parking facilities. This includes the construction of rest areas with expanded truck parking; construction of commercial truck parking facilities adjacent to commercial truck stops and travel plazas; the opening of existing inspection and weigh station facilities to truck parking; and promoting the availability of publicly or privately provided truck parking on the National Highway System using intelligent transportation systems.

NATSO is the trade association of America’s travel plaza and truckstop industry. Founded in 1960, NATSO represents the industry on legislative and regulatory matters; serves as the official source of information on the diverse travel plaza and truckstop industry; provides education to its members; conducts an annual convention and trade show; and supports efforts to generally improve the business climate in which its members operate.


Source: PR Newswire