Last updated on April 19, 2014 at 9:20 EDT

The 14th Annual L’Oréal-Unesco Awards or Women on Science: From March 26 to March 29, Paris Welcomes and Honours Tomorrow’s Scientific Talents

March 26, 2012

PARIS, March 26, 2012 /PRNewswire/ –

The L’OREAL-UNESCO For Women in Science program is welcoming the 15 International
Fellows in Paris for a week of scientific meetings and debates.

        - On Wednesday, March 28, from 4 pm to 5:15 pm, the International Fellows
          will be presenting their research at the Pasteur Institute in Paris. Following these
          presentations, a cocktail will be held at the Institute where the International
          Fellows can be met individually

        - On Thursday, March 29, from 9 am to 12 pm, the Lutetia hotel will be
          hosting a morning of scientific debates with the International Fellows and the press.
          Human health topics such as diabetes, bacterial infections or cardiovascular accidents
          will be discussed during a series of debates moderated by Vivienne Parry, scientist by
          training, writer and broadcaster. The roundtables will be a rare occasion to have
          direct contact with the International Fellows and conduct one-to-one interviews

        - In the evening, the International Fellows will be attending the Awards
          Ceremony at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris, starting at 6:30 pm, along with the 2012
          Laureates in Life Sciences, who will be awarded for their contribution to the
          advancement of science

Before participating in these exciting scientific meetings during which you will be
able to personally meet the International Fellows and get a deeper insight into their
research, you can learn more about the 15 of them and read their profiles on the dedicated
newsroom: http://www.FWIS2012.com [http://fwis2012.com/?lang=fr ]

There, you will also find photos and video portraits of the Fellows.


The International Fellows 2012 are:

Medical chemistry: Peggoty Mutai, PhD in Chemistry, KENYA

Biotechnology/ Biochemistry: Gladys Kahaka, PhD in Plant Science, NAMIBIA

Wildlife biology: Johannie Maria Spaan, PhD Student in Zoology/Ecology, SOUTH AFRICA

Behavioural ecology: Kathrin Barboza Marquez, PhD Student in Biology, BOLIVIA

Marine biology: Giomar Helena Borerro-Perez, PhD in Biology, COLOMBIA

Bioengineering: Dora Medina, PhD in Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, MEXICO

Molecular virology: Sidrotun Naim, PhD Student in Environmental Science, INDONESIA

Marine biology: Zoe Hilton, PhD in Biological Sciences, NEW ZEALAND

Proteins engineering: Patricia Ng, PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology,


Virology: Aziza Hassan Kamel, PhD in Biology, EGYTPT

Cell and molecular biology: Dana Bazzoun, PhD Student in Cell and Molecular Biology,

Molecular biology and bioinformatics: Emna Harigua, PhD in Molecular Biology, TUNISIA

Molecular and systemic biology:Naama Geva-Zatorsky, ISRAEL

Molecular and clinic genetics:Elza Van Deel, PhD in Cardiology and Molecular Genetics,

Molecular microbiology and chemistry:Vita Majce, PhD in Chemistry, SLOVENIA

The 2012 Laureates in Life Sciences are:

Professor Jill Farrant, Research Chair – Plant Molecular Physiology, Department of
Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA; Professor Ingrid
Scheffer, Chair of Paediatric Neurology Research, University of Melbourne, AUSTRALIA;
Professor Frances Ashcroft, Royal Society Research Professor, Department of Physiology,
Anatomy and Genetics, Oxford University, UNITED KINGDOM; Professor Susana Lopez,
Developmental Genetics and Molecular Physiology, Department of the Institute of
Biotechnology, National University of Mexico, Cuernavaca, MEXICO; Professor Bonnie
Bassler, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Department of Molecular Biology, Princeton
University, USA

During the Awards Ceremony taking place on March 29 at the UNESCO Headquarters, each
Laureate, being an outstanding role model for the next generation of scientists, will
receive an award from Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO and Sir Lindsay Owen-Jones,
Chairman of the L’Oreal Foundation in recognition of her contribution to the advancement
of science.


About the L’Oreal Foundation

The L’Oreal Foundation, created in 2007, pursues the goal of making the world a better
place each day. It draws on the Group’s values and business to strengthen and perpetuate
the Group’s commitment to social responsibility. As the second-largest corporate
foundation in France, the L’Oreal Foundation is committed to three types of action:
promoting scientific research in the fundamental and human sciences, supporting education
and helping individuals made vulnerable by alternations to their appearance to reclaim
their rightful place in society.


Since its creation in 1945, UNESCO has pursued its mission of promoting science at the
service of sustainable development and peace. It focuses on policy development and
building capacities in science, technology and innovation and promoting and strengthening
science education and engineering. UNESCO fosters the sustainable management of
freshwater, oceans and terrestrial resources, the protection of biodiversity, and using
the power of science to cope with climate change and natural hazards. The Organization
also works to eliminate all forms of discrimination and to promote equality between men
and women, especially in scientific research.

        Press contacts

        Catherine Rose / +33(0)1 47-56-85-42 / catherine.rose@loreal.com
        Laura Lovasik / +33(0)1-47-56-76-77 / laura.lovasik@loreal.com


        To confirm attendance and receive your accreditation, please contact:
        Publicis Consultants
        Florence Marin / +33-1-44-82-45-17/ florence.marin@consultants.publicis.fr
        Colette Genin / +33-1-44-82-45-31 / colette.genin@consultants.publicis.fr

        UNESCO Press Office
        Sue Williams / +33(0)1-45-68-17-06 / s.williams@unesco.org


SOURCE L’Oréal-UNESCO Pour les Femmes et la Science

Source: PR Newswire