Last updated on April 16, 2014 at 16:54 EDT

Barley classification changing to reflect barley’s potential

July 6, 2012

WINNIPEG, July 6, 2012 /CNW/ – On August 1, 2012, the Canadian Grain
Commission is revising barley classification to highlight barley’s
potential for a diverse range of end uses, including food products.

“Changing how barley is classed is an example of the valuable work done
by the Western Standards Committee and demonstrates the flexibility of
our system,” explains Elwin Hermanson, Chair of the Western Standards
Committee and Chief Commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission.
“Committee members saw these changes would benefit Canada’s barley
producers, industry and consumers of Canadian barley.”

At its meeting on April 3, 2012, the Western Standards Committee
recommended the following changes:

        --  Adding a food class
        --  Removing the hulless class
        --  Adding hulless and covered barley to primary grade determinant
            tables for food, malting and general purpose classes

The full grade schedules for each class of barley are included in the
Western Standards Committee’s April 3, 2012 recommendations.

Currently, barley is classed as malting, hulless or general purpose.
After August 1, barley will be classed as food, malting or general
purpose, which better describes potential end-uses. Rather than having
a hulless class, each class will have hulless and covered varieties.

In the current system, if a variety suited for malting were a hulless
variety, it would be classed as hulless barley, not as malting barley,
which could lead customers to overlook its potential as malting barley.
In the revised system, this variety will be more accurately classed as
malting barley.

The new food class demonstrates to customers that Canadian barley has
potential for use in a variety of food products. Canadian barley
breeders have developed several barley varieties with a focus on
maximizing beta-glucan content for food use.

About the Western Standards Committee
The Western Standards Committee meets twice a year to recommend
specifications for grades of grain, and to select and recommend
standard and guide samples to the Canadian Grain Commission. Members
represent different sectors of the grain industry and include grain
processors, exporters and producers.

About the Canadian Grain Commission
The Canadian Grain Commission is the federal agency responsible for
establishing and maintaining Canada’s grain quality standards. Its
programs result in shipments of grain that consistently meet contract
specifications for quality, safety and quantity. The Canadian Grain
Commission regulates the grain industry to protect producers’ rights
and ensure the integrity of grain transactions.


SOURCE Canadian Grain Commission

Source: PR Newswire