Last updated on April 17, 2014 at 16:36 EDT

NASA, Space Station Partners Announce Future Crew Members

September 30, 2013

WASHINGTON, Sept. 30, 2013 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — NASA and its international partners have appointed future crew members for the International Space Station.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20081007/38461LOGO)

NASA astronaut Tim Kopra and European Space Agency astronaut Tim Peake are scheduled to launch in December 2015 and return to Earth in spring 2016. They will join the Expedition 45 crew members in orbit and will remain aboard as part of Expedition 46 with yearlong expedition Commander Scott Kelly and Flight Engineer Mikhail Kornienko.

This will be the second long-duration spaceflight for Kopra, a former U.S. Army helicopter pilot and graduate of the U.S. Military Academy. Kopra was a flight engineer aboard the station during Expedition 20 in 2009. This will be the first spaceflight for Peake, a former British Army helicopter pilot and graduate of the Royal Military Academy.

The Expedition 45 crew will be:

    --  NASA astronaut Scott Kelly, station commander
    --  Russian cosmonaut Mikhail Kornienko, flight engineer
    --  NASA astronaut Tim Kopra, flight engineer
    --  ESA astronaut Tim Peake, flight engineer

For complete astronaut biographical information, visit:


To follow Twitter updates from Kopra and Peake, visit:




For more information about the International Space Station, visit:


To join the online conversation about the International Space Station and the men and women aboard, follow @NASA_Astronauts and the hashtag #ISS. To learn more about all the ways to connect and collaborate with NASA, visit: http://www.nasa.gov/connect


Source: PR Newswire