July 2, 2008

NAE Elects 9 From ASEE

By Anonymous

THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING WASHINGTON - Nine members of ASEE have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. They were among 65 new academy members and 9 foreign associates whose election was announced Feb. 8 by NAE President Charles M. Vest.

Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature;" and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education," the NAE announcement said. The February election brings the total membership of the academy to 2,227 and the number of foreign associates to 194.

The ASEE members elected to the NAE, and the engineering accomplishments cited by the academy, are:

BERNARD AMADEI, professor of civil engineering, University of Colorado, Boulder, for the creation of Engineers Without Borders; leadership in sustainable development education; and research on geomechanics.

DENNIS N. ASSANIS, Jon R. and Beverly S. Holt professor of engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, for scientific contributions to improving fuel economy and reducing emissions of internal combustion engines; and for promoting automotive engineering education.

ROBERT H. DODDS JR., professor and department head, MT. Geoffrey Yeh Chair of Civil Engineering, department of civil and environmental engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign, for contributions in non-linear fracture mechanics and applications to practice in nuclear power and space systems.

DAVID A. DZOMBAK, Walter J. Blenko, Sr. Professor of Environmental Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, for the development of models used in evaluating chemical behavior in water quality engineering and environmental remediation.

JOHN L. HUDSON, Wills Johnson Professor, department of chemical engineering, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, for advances in the understanding and engineering of complex dynamic chemical- reaction systems.

JON M. KLEINBERG, professor of computer science, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y., for contributions to the understanding of the structure and behavior of the World Wide Web and other complex networks.

REBECCA RAE RICHARDSKORTUM, Stanley C. Moore Professor and chair, department of bioengineering, Rice University, Houston, for research on the diagnosis and treatment of cancer in women, and for leadership in bioengineering education and global health initiatives.

R. PAUL SINGH, professor, biological and agricultural engineering department, University of California, Davis, for innovation and leadership in food engineering research and education.

YANNIS C. YORTSOS, dean, Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, for fundamental advances in fluid flow, transport, and reactions in porous media applied to the recovery of subsurface resources.


(c) 2008 ASEE Prism. Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning. All rights Reserved.