September 15, 2008

Etihad Airways, Malaysia Airlines Sign Code-Share Agreement

United Arab Emirates-based Etihad Airways has signed a new code-share agreement with Malaysia Airlines.

Under the code-share agreement, Etihad Airways will place its two-letter EY code on Malaysia Airlines's flights between Kuala Lumpur, and Kota Kinabalu, Penang, Kuching and Langkawi.

In turn, Malaysia Airlines will place its MH code on services operated by Etihad between its home base of Abu Dhabi, and Bahrain, Doha and Muscat in the Gulf region.

James Hogan, CEO of Etihad Airways, said: "Asia is an important market for Etihad and there is huge demand amongst our customers to travel beyond the Malaysian capital, which this new code-share agreement now allows. We are delighted to have been able to get this exciting new code-share agreement up and running so soon after signing the memorandum of understanding."