ATF Publishes List of 238 Explosive Materials Subject to Law

December 31, 2008

WASHINGTON, Dec. 31 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) published a notice in the Federal Register today containing the list of 238 explosive materials that are subject to federal law and implementing regulations.

The annual list is comprehensive but not all-inclusive. Therefore, an explosive material may not be on the list but may still be within the coverage of the law if it meets the statutory definitions.

The list covers explosives, blasting agents and detonators, all of which are defined as explosive materials in the United States Code chapter regulating the importation, manufacture, distribution, receipt and storage of explosive materials. Some of the explosives on the list include: dynamite, black powder, pellet powder, initiating explosives, safety fuses, squibs, detonating cord, igniter cord, and igniters.

The 2008 list contains no new terms, deletions or revisions since the publication of the 2007 list.

ATF has jurisdiction for the enforcement of Chapter 40 of the United States Code, as well as for the Safe Explosives Act passed by Congress in 2002 as part of the Homeland Security Act.

Copies of the notice can be found at http://www.atf.gov/firearms/rules/gennotices.htm.

More information on ATF and its programs can be found at www.atf.gov.

    Contact: Public Affairs Division
    (202) 648-8500

SOURCE Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus