Seattle Mayor Greg Nickels to Lead the Nation’s Mayors in Discussions With White House & Cabinet Officials on Recession and Green Economic Recovery

September 29, 2009

60+ Mayors Will Gather To Announce the 1,000th Signatory to the Mayors’ Climate Protection Agreement

WASHINGTON, Sept. 29 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — U.S. Conference of Mayors President Seattle (WA) Mayor Greg Nickels will announce that by Friday, 1,000 mayors, representing 85 million Americans, will have signed the U.S. Conference of Mayors’ Climate Protection Agreement — a pledge to significantly reduce greenhouse gas emissions in U.S. cities in line with Kyoto Protocol standards.

The announcement of the 1000th mayoral signatory and his/her city will take place during the Conference’s Leadership Meeting, from October 1st to October 3rd at the Westin Seattle Hotel, where 60+ U.S. mayors will discuss the continuing recession and “green” economic recovery with White House and Obama Cabinet Officials.

Mayors will hear from U.S. Energy Steven Secretary Chu, U.S. Housing and Urban Development Secretary Shaun Donovan, HUD Deputy Secretary Ron Sims, National Drug Control Policy Director Gil Kerlikowske, U.S. Census Bureau Director Dr. Robert Grover, Deputy Secretary of Education Tony Miller, White House Urban Affairs Office Director Aldofo Carrion, White House Chair on Environmental Quality Nancy Sutley and others on stimulus implementation, climate protection, green jobs, and other federal policies that impact urban and metropolitan areas – many of which have unemployment rates above 10 percent.

The Conference will also release a Climate Protection City Profile report that outlines specific actions mayors are taking to make their cities more energy efficient and meet the goals of the Mayors’ Climate Protection Agreement (CPA). Mayor Nickels, who will lead a delegation of mayors supporting Secretary of State Clinton and President Obama at the Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen, initially introduced the Mayors’ CPA in February of 2005 in response to federal inaction on the Kyoto Protocol, and has since led mayors in the “green” movement in this country with summits on alternative vehicles (2006), green buildings (2006) and climate change (2007).

The Leadership Meeting is closed to the press, but mayors/speakers are available for interviews immediately following Friday’s PRESS CONFERENCE. Please see below for a list of the mayors slated to attend.

WHO: Seattle, WA Mayor Greg Nickels, USCM President

Burnsville, MN Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, USCM Vice President

Los Angeles, CA Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, USCM Second Vice President

60+ U.S. Mayors

Tom Cochran, USCM Executive Director and CEO


Friday, October 2nd at 10:45 a.m.

WHERE: The Westin Seattle Hotel – Grand Crescent Room

1900 5TH Avenue | Seattle, WA 98101 | 206-728-1000


Mayor Greg Nickels, Seattle, WA

Mayor Elizabeth Kautz, Burnsville, MN

Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa, Los Angeles, CA

Mayor Patrick Hays, North Little Rock, AR

Mayor Scott Smith, Mesa, AZ

Mayor Robert E. Walkup, Tucson, AZ

Mayor Bruce Barrows, Cerritos, CA

Mayor Ashley Swearengin, Fresno, CA

Mayor Bob Foster, Long Beach, CA

Mayor Jennifer Hosterman, Pleasanton, CA

Mayor Dan Skoglund, Rancho Cordova, CA

Mayor Michael Gin, Redondo Beach, CA

Mayor Kevin Johnson Sacramento, CA

Mayor Miguel A. Pulido, Santa Ana, CA

Mayor Marty Blum, Santa Barbara, CA

Mayor Anthony Santos, San Leandro, CA

Mayor Christopher Cabaldon, West Sacramento, CA

Mayor John Hickenlooper, Denver, CO

Mayor Bill Finch, Bridgeport, CT

Mayor Juan Carlos Bermudez, Doral, FL

Mayor Joy Cooper, Hallandale Beach, FL

Mayor Lori C. Moseley, Miramar, FL

Mayor Frank C. Ortis, Pembroke Pines, FL

Mayor John Marks, Tallahassee, FL

Mayor Lois Frankel, West Palm Beach, FL

Mayor Mufi Hannemann, Honolulu, HI

Mayor Charmaine Tavares, Maui, HI

Mayor T.M. Franklin Cownie, Des Moines, IA

Mayor David Pope, Oak Park, IL

Mayor Jim Brainard, Carmel, IN

Mayor Elaine Walker, Bowling Green, KY

Mayor Jerry Abramson, Louisville, KY

Mayor Melvin “Kip” Holden, Baton Rouge, LA

Mayor C. Ray Nagin, New Orleans, LA

Mayor Cedric Glover, Shreveport, LA

Mayor Joseph Curtatone, Somerville, MA

Mayor Brenda L. Lawrence, Southfield, MI

Mayor William Wild, Westland, MI

Mayor Ardell Brede, Rochester, MN

Mayor Darwin Hindman, Columbia, MO

Mayor Francis G. Slay, St. Louis, MO

Mayor William Bell, Durham, NC

Mayor J. Christian Bollwage, Elizabeth, NJ

Mayor Brian Wahler, Piscataway, NJ

Mayor Douglas H. Palmer, Trenton, NJ

Mayor Robert Duffy, Rochester, NY

Mayor Brian Stratton, Schenectady, NY

Mayor Mark Mallory, Cincinnati, OH

Mayor Michael B. Coleman, Columbus, OH

Mayor Mick Cornett, Oklahoma City, OK

Mayor Michael A. Nutter, Philadelphia, PA

Mayor David N. Cicilline, Providence, RI

Mayor Joseph P. Riley, Jr., Charleston, SC

Mayor Joseph T. Mcelveen, Sumter, SC

Mayor Robert Cluck, Arlington, TX

Mayor Thomas Leppert, Dallas, TX

Mayor Ralph Becker, Salt Lake City, UT

Mayor Grant Degginger, Bellevue, WA

Mayor Mary Verner, Spokane, WA

Mayor Bill Baarsma, Tacoma, WA

Mayor John Dickert, Racine, WI

SOURCE U.S. Conference of Mayors

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus