Elsevier Announces the Winner of the Ahmed Zewail Prize in Molecular Sciences

June 21, 2010

AMSTERDAM, June 21, 2010 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ –

– Professor William H. Miller of University of California, Berkeley,
Rewarded for his Outstanding Contributions to the Theory of Chemical Reactions

The Editors of the leading international journal Chemical Physics Letters
are pleased to announce that the third Ahmed Zewail Prize in Molecular
Sciences has been awarded to Professor William H. Miller from the University
of California, Berkeley
, USA, for his outstanding contributions to the theory
of chemical reactions. The prize consists of a monetary award of $20,000 and
will be presented during the 2011 Spring meeting of the American Chemical
Society, in Anaheim, CA, USA.

Professor Miller’s research has dealt with essentially all aspects of
molecular collision theory and chemical reaction dynamics. Most recently his
efforts have focused on developing a practical way of adding quantum effects
to classical molecular dynamics simulations of chemical processes. Everyone
involved in the detailed interpretation of experiments on chemical reaction
dynamics have been influenced by his innovative theories.

William H. Miller received a B.S. in Chemistry from Georgia Tech (1963)
and a Ph.D. in Chemical Physics from Harvard (1967). He joined the chemistry
department of the University of California, Berkeley, in 1969 and has been
Professor since 1974, serving as Department Chairman from 1989 to 1993 and
becoming the Kenneth S. Pitzer Distinguished Professor in 1999. Professor
Miller is a member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences
(1985), the National Academy of Sciences (1987), and the American Academy of
Arts and Sciences (1993). His awards include the Annual Prize of the
International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences (1974), the E. O.
Memorial Award (1985), the Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics
(1990), the American Chemical Society Award in Theoretical Chemistry (1994),
the Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry (1996), the Ira Remsen Award
(1997), the Spiers Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry (1998), the Peter
Award in Physical Chemistry (2003), the Welch Award in Chemistry
(2007), and the Hershbach Award in Molecular Dynamics (2007).

Nobel Laureate Professor Ahmed Zewail, in whose name the prize is
honoured, remarked, “Bill has made fundamental contributions to the field of
chemical dynamics. In his work, one can see the elegance of approach and the
creative sparks, which were certainly evident in his seminal semiclassical
description of reactivity.”

Dr. Karel Nederveen, Publishing Director Chemistry at Elsevier,
commented, “I am delighted with the choice of Professor Miller as the third
Ahmed Zewail Prize winner. I thank both the nominators and the 11 leading
scientists in the Voting Committee, who helped the Editors in making such an
exceptional choice from a field of close to 40, very strong nominations.”

About the Ahmed Zewail Prize in Molecular Sciences

The Ahmed Zewail Prize in Molecular Sciences is a biennial award
sponsored by Elsevier in collaboration with the international journal
Chemical Physics Letters. Named for the journal’s Honorary Advisory Editor
Professor Zewail, who received the 1999 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, the Prize
is awarded to individual scientists who have made significant and creative
contributions of a fundamental nature to any of the disciplines of molecular
sciences. The winner’s research activities may cover theoretical and/or
experimental aspects of the studies in all phases of matter and biological
systems. The Prize consists of a monetary award of $20,000, a Gold Medal and
a certificate, and will be presented in person at a special symposium during
the Annual Spring meetings of the American Chemical Society. For more
information, see the Ahmed Zewail Prize link on:

About Chemical Physics Letters

Chemical Physics Letters is an international rapid communications journal
publishing the results of frontier research in chemical physics and physical
chemistry, molecular sciences, materials science and biological systems. The
Editors of the Journal are currently Professors David Clary (University of
, UK), Mitchio Okumura (California Institute of Technology, USA),

Richard Saykally (University of California, Berkeley, USA) and Villy
(Lund University, Sweden). The Editors are supported by an Advisory
Editorial Board of about 100 leading scientists. For more information:

About Elsevier

Elsevier is a world-leading publisher of scientific, technical and
medical information products and services. The company works in partnership
with the global science and health communities to publish more than 2,000
journals, including The Lancet (http://www.thelancet.com) and Cell
(http://www.cell.com), and close to 20,000 book titles, including major
reference works from Mosby and Saunders. Elsevier’s online solutions include
ScienceDirect (http://www.sciencedirect.com), Scopus (http://www.scopus.com),
Reaxys (http://www.reaxys.com), MD Consult (http://www.mdconsult.com) and
Nursing Consult (http://www.nursingconsult.com), which enhance the
productivity of science and health professionals, and the SciVal suite
(http://www.scival.com) and MEDai’s Pinpoint Review (http://www.medai.com),
which help research and health care institutions deliver better outcomes more

A global business headquartered in Amsterdam, Elsevier (
http://www.elsevier.com) employs 7,000 people worldwide. The company is part
of Reed Elsevier Group PLC (http://www.reedelsevier.com), a world-leading
publisher and information provider. The ticker symbols are REN (Euronext
Amsterdam), REL (London Stock Exchange), RUK and ENL (New York Stock

    Name   Ursula van Dijk
    Phone  +31-204852608
    E-mail u.dijk@elsevier.com

SOURCE Elsevier

Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus