February 27, 2008

AMVETS Program Honors Scholastic Winners

Thirty-eight students in kindergarten through grade 12 from 10 Lancaster County schools were announced Saturday as winners of the 2007-08 AMVETS and AMVETS Ladies Auxiliary Annual Americanism Program at AMVETS Post 19 in Lancaster.

"My Favorite American Hero Is" was the theme for this year's contest, which drew more than 890 entries.

Students in kindergarten and first grade drew flags, while contestants in grades 2 through 5 created posters and wrote a 50- word description of their artwork. Participants in grades 6 though 12 wrote essays describing their favorite American hero. Winners received a certificate, plaque, flag and a monetary award ranging from $25 to $100.

Kindergarten flag winners were: Bernardo Heinandez Barban, first place; Jordan Bender, second; and Bedei Gbala, third. First-grade winners were: Geovanni Diaz, first place; Rafaela Flores, second; and Theresa Nguyen, third. All six children are from Resurrection School.

Second-grade poster winners were: Dishad Harrison, Resurrection School, first place; Melissa Gibble, Kissel Hill Elementary, second; and Carrigan Legenstein, Resurrection School, third. Third-grade poster winners were: Allison Weidman, Strasburg Elementary, first place; Simon Shenk, Strasburg Elementary, second; and Noah Cunningham, Resurrection School, third.

Fourth-grade poster winners were Emily Doerschuk, Doe Run Elementary, first place; Jesse Brasher, Doe Run Elementary, second; and Michael Southward, Resurrection School, third. Fifth-grade winners were Megan Harman, Resurrection School, first place; Brianna White, Resurrection School, second; and Michael Truong, Resurrection School, third.

For the essay contest, sixth-grade winners were Rhea Sullivan, Landisville Intermediate Center, first place; Rachel Goldfarb, Landisville Intermediate Center, second; and Kelly Aksu, Landisville Intermediate Center, third. Seventh-grade winners were Gabrielle Bauman, Manor Middle School, first place; Sara Thompson, Landisville Middle School, second; and Jillian Heckman, Manor Middle School, third. Eighth-grade winners were Zack Donnan, Columbia High School, first; Connor Mahaffey, Landisville Middle School, second; and Joseph Kelly, Landisville Middle School, third.

Ninth-grade winners were Rebecca Copeland, Hempfield High School, first place; Alex Miller, Hempfield High School, second; and Lauren Frey, Hempfield High School, third. Tenth-grade winners were Kristi Santos, McCaskey High School, first place; and Sharleen Ponzo, McCaskey High School, second.

Eleventh-grade winners were Sarah Sheerin, Hempfield High School, first place; Kate Murphy, Hempfield High School, second; and Hilary Kerchner, Hempfield High School, third. Twelfth-grade winners were Victoria Washington, McCaskey High School, first; Anthony Molden, McCaskey High School, second; and Michele Ulearey, McCaskey High School, third.

Originally published by Intelligencer Journal Staff.

(c) 2008 Intelligencer Journal. Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning. All rights Reserved.