June 19, 2008

Warrick School Choice Plan Announced

By JOHN MARTIN, Courier & Press staff writer 464-7594 or [email protected]

BOONVILLE, Ind. - A resolution passed by the Warrick County School Board on Monday night maintains a middle school choice option for all children leaving Chandler Elementary School and some departing Yankeetown Elementary School.

Those families currently may send their children to either Castle Junior High or Boonville Junior High.

As Warrick County moves in 2009 to a grades 6-8 middle school system, all children coming from Chandler and some coming from Yankeetown will be able to enroll at Castle North Middle School or Boonville Middle School.

According to the School Board's resolution approved Monday, students leaving Newburgh and Sharon elementary schools will move on to the new middle school, Castle South.

John H. Castle Elementary School students will go to Castle North (the current junior high building). Chandler and Yankeetown students also will go to Castle North, if they choose not to go to Boonville.

In other business Monday, the School Board named Kurt Krodel principal of Newburgh Elementary School.

Krodel has been an assistant principal at Chandler and John H. Castle for the last 18 months. He replaces Rick Reed, who became the school corporation's personnel director.

Members recognized

The board recognized two of its members who are leaving, Alvin Holder and Don Phillips.

Newly elected members Brenda Metzger and Ben Stilwell will begin four-year terms next month, and current board President Gary Hachmeister will begin a new four-year term.

(c) 2008 Evansville Courier & Press. Provided by ProQuest Information and Learning. All rights Reserved.