September 11, 2008

National Society of Hispanic MBAs’ Prestigious University Partnership Program Grows to 33 Universities

DALLAS, Sept. 11 /PRNewswire/ -- The National Society of Hispanic MBAs (NSHMBA) recently announced the addition of six universities to the University Partnership Program roster. The universities added to the prestigious 33-member partnership program are University of Pittsburgh, The Ohio State University, Chapman University, University of San Francisco, Rollins College, and the University of New Mexico. This academic year, NSHMBA awarded over $1.3 million in financial assistance to outstanding Hispanics pursuing a Master of Business Administration (MBA) or equivalent. The University Partnership Program, along with other NSHMBA scholarship programs, shares in this educational success.

NSHMBA created the University Partnership Program in 2006 to provide select academic institutions an expanded pool of qualified Hispanic applicants for graduate business programs. The program also creates a joint partnership opportunity in order to strengthen the pipeline of Hispanic students completing bachelors and masters degrees. The partnership program offers financial assistance in the form of scholarships, fellowships and assistantships. The concept for the program began several years ago when individual NSHMBA chapters around the nation collaborated with local universities to offer financial assistance to deserving candidates. It is NSHMBAs' hope that more universities join the program and help build the number of opportunities available to Hispanic students seeking MBAs and to develop a close relationship with the NSHMBA local chapters.

"The National Society of Hispanic MBAs' unwavering pursuit of helping Hispanics continue their education to obtain Masters of Business Administration degrees is the basis of our University Partnership Program. Establishing strategic and significant relationships with top universities benefit not only our members, but also provides our university partners the benefit of recruiting top notch Hispanic MBA students for their business school," said Lourdes M. Hassler, CEO, NSHMBA. "As we celebrate our 20th anniversary, we look forward to sharing in continued success with the great universities that are part of the University Partnership Program now, and with those that will join with us in our efforts to affect the future diversity landscape of business schools and corporations."

The current University Partnership Program members are Arizona State University - W.P. Carey School of Business, Babson College - Babson MBA, Bentley - McCallum Graduate School of Business, Boston College - Carroll School of Management, Boston University - School of Management, Brandeis University - Brandeis International Business School, Case Western Reserve University - Weatherhead School of Management, Chapman University - Argyros School of Business & Economics, Cleveland State University - Nance College of Business Administration, Drexel University - LeBow College of Business, Emory University - Goizueta School of Business, Florida International University - Chapman Graduate School of Business, HULT International School of Business, Northeastern University - Graduate School of Business Administration, Rice University - Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Management, Rollins College - Crummer Graduate School of Business, Stetson University - School of Business Administration, Texas Christian University - Neeley School of Business, The Ohio State University - Fisher College of Business, The University of Akron - College of Business Administration, The University of New Mexico - Anderson School of Management, University of Central Florida - College of Business Administration, University of Cincinnati - College of Business, University of Florida - Warrington School of Business, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - College of Business, University of Miami - School of Business Administration, University of Minnesota - Carlson School of Management, University of Notre Dame - Mendoza College of Business, University of Pittsburgh - Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business, University of San Francisco - Masagung Graduate School of Management, The University of Tampa - John H. Sykes College of Business, The University of Texas at Dallas - School of Management and the Willamette University - Atkinson Graduate School of Management.


The National Society of Hispanic MBAs (NSHMBA) was created in 1988 as a 501(C)(3) non-profit organization. Widely known as the "Premier Hispanic Organization," NSHMBA serves 32 chapters and 7,000 members in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. It exists to foster Hispanic leadership through graduate management education and professional development. NSHMBA works to prepare Hispanics for leadership positions throughout the U.S. so that they can provide the cultural awareness and sensitivity vital in the management of the nation's diverse workforce.

The National Society of Hispanic MBAs

CONTACT: Kathy Cabello of Cabello Associates for The National Society ofHispanic MBAs, +1-317-209-9991 or +1-317-691-5870