Last updated on April 24, 2014 at 5:50 EDT

Rosanne Cash Invites Twitter Followers to Request Songs for “Live From Zone C” Radio Concert

October 20, 2011

NEW YORK, Oct. 20, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — An active Twitter user, Rosanne Cash has enlisted her followers to vote for the songs to be featured on her upcoming radio concert, “Live From Zone C” (as she refers to her home). The show will be pre-recorded and filmed on November 2 from her living room in New York City, and will be broadcast and streamed later in the month on select radio stations.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20060130/LEGACYLOGO )

Participating radio stations are encouraged to have listeners submit requests from October 25-29, 2011 via Twitter. The hashtags #essentialrc and @rosannecash are being used to track the song requests and allow Rosanne to review them. Radio listeners can add a #hashtag or @mention for their local station so Rosanne can acknowledge various station call letters during the concert.

This intimate concert provides a unique opportunity for Cash to celebrate the breadth of her songbook and connect with new and loyal fans in a mix of social and traditional media.

Twitter requests are being taken from the 36 songs on THE ESSENTIAL ROSANNE CASH, the definitive double-CD anthology which was released May 24, 2011, through Columbia/Legacy, a division of SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT.

THE ESSENTIAL ROSANNE CASH is more than just a well-compiled greatest hits album,” writes All Music Guide, “it allows us to watch an artist evolve from strength to strength over the course of 36 songs.” UNCUT magazine says “a stunning career survey… a rare trademark of quality and emotional honesty runs through Rosanne Cash’s three-decade recording career.”

The collection spans the years from her 1978 self-titled debut album up through her most recent Grammy Award®-nominated album of 2009, The List. It starts with a track from her Germany-only debut LP on Ariola (1978), then moves through her pivotal decade and a half at Columbia Records (1979 to 1995), and concludes with her recent years at Capitol/EMI (starting in 1996).

Rosanne’s 22 Country chart singles under her own name at Columbia remain a benchmark, and 17 of them are found on THE ESSENTIAL ROSANNE CASH. Included (for the first time in any collection) are every one of her 11 hits to reach #1, from her first consecutive triplet of “Seven Year Ache,” “My Baby Thinks He’s A Train,” and “Blue Moon With Heartache” (all from the 1981 album, Seven Year Ache), up through her 1989 cover of the Beatles’ “I Don’t Want To Spoil The Party.”

Other #1 highlights during her Columbia tenure include 1985′s “I Don’t Know Why You Don’t Want Me,” her Grammy Award® winner for Best Female Country Vocal; and the record-setting four consecutive #1 hits from King’s Record Shop, spanning 1987-88: “The Way We Make A Broken Heart” (written by John Hiatt), “Tennessee Flat Top Box” (a classic by her father, Johnny Cash), “If You Change Your Mind,” and John Stewart’s “Runaway Train.” Studio credits during her Columbia years reveal such respected names as Ricky Skaggs, Albert Lee, Emmylou Harris, Vince Gill, Marc O’Connor, Edgar Meyer, Mary-Chapin Carpenter, and many others.

THE ESSENTIAL ROSANNE CASH devotes the second half of Disc Two to her productive time at Capitol/EMI, as she evolved from the Country singles chart to deliver four critically-acclaimed studio albums which garnered four Grammy Award® nominations. Among the nine cuts is “September When It Comes,” recorded in 2002 as a chilling duet with Johnny, the year before his death in 2003. The track was one of the focal points of the Grammy Award® nominated Rules Of Travel (2003), which was her first new album in seven years.

The next few years would encompass the deaths of Johnny (September 2003), June Carter Cash (May 2003), and Rosanne’s mother Vivian Liberto (May 2005). In 2006, Rosanne returned stronger than ever with the Grammy Award® nominated Black Cadillac. Rolling Stone called the album “Rosanne Cash’s best…..Absolutely in the Family tradition.” The New York Times also proclaimed it “…an object lesson in inheritance… Ms. Cash has a voice both dark and sweet, with a gentle but reliable vibrato, and she knows how to convey the quiet sting of heartache.”

The final cuts on THE ESSENTIAL ROSANNE CASH are from The List, an album derived from a list of 100 American standards that Johnny hand-wrote for Rosanne when she was 18 years old, and which she revisited more than three decades later. Her duet with Bruce Springsteen on Don Gibson’s 1961 “Sea Of Heartbreak,” and a collaboration with Nickel Creek’s Chris Thile on Mickey Newbury’s “Sweet Memories,” are examples of why The List earned a 2010 Grammy Award® nomination for Best Americana Album and the Americana Association’s Award for Album Of The Year. “Sea of Heartbreak” also earned a Grammy Award ® nomination for Best Pop Collaboration.


(Columbia/Legacy 88697 82710 2)

Disc One:

1. Can I Still Believe In You (A)

2. Baby, Better Start Turnin’ Em Down (B)

3. No Memories Hangin’ Round (B, duet with Bobby Bare, #17 Country)

4. Seven Year Ache (C, #1 Country; #22 Pop)

5. Blue Moon With Heartache (C, #1 Country; #104 Pop)

6. My Baby Thinks He’s A Train (C, #1 Country)

7. It Hasn’t Happened Yet (D, #14 Country)

8. I Wonder (D, #8 Country)

9. If It Weren’t For Him (E, duet with Vince Gill, #10 Country)

10. I Don’t Know Why You Don’t Want Me (F, #1 Country)

11. Never Be You (F, #1 Country)

12. Hold On (F, #5 Country)

13. Runaway Train (G, #1 Country)

14. The Way We Make A Broken Heart (G, #1 Country)

15. If You Change Your Mind (G, #1 Country)

16. It’s Such A Small World (H, duet with Rodney Crowell, #1 Country)

17. Tennessee Flat Top Box (G, #1 Country)

18. I Don’t Want To Spoil The Party (I, #1 Country)

Disc Two:

1. The Real Me (G)

2. On The Surface (J, #69 Country)

3. What We Really Want (J, #39 Country)

4. I Want A Cure (J)

5. Mirror Image (J)

6. The Wheel (K)

7. Seventh Avenue (K)

8. Sleeping In Paris (K)

9. A Lover Is Forever (live) (L)

10. Western Wall (M)

11. September When It Comes (N, featuring Johnny Cash)

12. Black Cadillac (O)

13. House On The Lake (O)

14. The World Unseen (O)

15. The Good Intent (O)

16. 500 Miles (P)

17. Sea Of Heartbreak (P, featuring Bruce Springsteen)

18. Sweet Memories (P, featuring Chris Thile)

Albums index:

A – from Rosanne Cash (Ariola 50053, released 1978)

B – from Right or Wrong (Columbia 36155, released 1979)

C – from Seven Year Ache (Columbia 36965, released March 1981)

D – from Somewhere In The Stars (Columbia 37570, released June 1982)

E – from The Things That Matter by Vince Gill (RCA Victor 5348, released 1985)

F – from Rhythm And Romance (Columbia 39463, released June 1985)

G – from King’s Record Shop (Columbia 40777, released July 1987)

H – from Diamonds & Dirt by Rodney Crowell (Columbia 44076, released April 1988)

I – from Hits 1979-1989 (Columbia 45054, released February 1989

J – from Interiors (Columbia 46079, released October 1990)

K – from The Wheel (Columbia 52729, released January 1993)

L – from Retrospective (Columbia 67321, released November 1995)

M – from 10 Song Demo (Capitol 32390, released April 1996)

N – from Rules Of Travel (Capitol 37757, released March 2003)

O – from Black Cadillac (Capitol 48738, released January 2006)

P – from The List (Manhattan 84804, released October 2009)


All albums by Rosanne Cash except (E) and (H) as indicated.

All albums indicate U.S. release except (A), previously released in Germany only.

SOURCE Legacy Recordings

Source: PR Newswire