Last updated on April 19, 2014 at 13:20 EDT

Flanders Joins Walter Payton Award Watch List; Schaetzke Added to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

November 8, 2011

PHILADELPHIA, Nov. 8, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — (Sports Network) – The watch lists for the Walter Payton and Buck Buchanan awards are full of talented players, but there is no denying Sam Houston State running back Tim Flanders and Georgetown defensive end Andrew Schaetzke have played their way into the mix this season.

On Tuesday, Flanders joined the race for the 25th Walter Payton Award, which honors the outstanding player in the Football Championship Subdivision, while Schaetzke was nominated for the Buck Buchanan Award, which is presented to the FCS’ outstanding defensive player. The two highest player awards in the division are presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by Fathead.com.

Flanders, with the moves like Jagger, has danced his way into an opponent’s end zone 18 times during No. 3-ranked Sam Houston State’s 9-0 start. The redshirt sophomore has helped the Bearkats clinch a berth in the FCS playoffs. He’s on pace for a 1,000-yard season and adds to his versatility as a pass-catcher, with 22 receptions for 343 yards.

The 5-foot-9, 210-pound Flanders, from Midwest City, Okla., is a transfer from Kansas State who was named the 2010 Southland Conference Newcomer of the Year.

Schaetzke, a 6-4, 245-pound senior, has fueled Georgetown (8-2) to its first winning season since 1999 and into contention for the Patriot League title. He is first in the league and among the nation’s best with 11 sacks and 20.5 tackles for loss. He has 65 total tackles as well as one interception, five pass breakups, three forced fumbles and two quarterback hurries.

The resident of Toledo, Ohio, is considered the favorite for the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year award. He made the all-league first team in 2010.

Each Watch List features 20 players, and their bios can be found at http://www.sportsnetwork.com/merge/tsnform.aspx?c=sportsnetwork&page=cfoot2/fcsawards/index.aspx

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on the Payton and Buchanan awards after the regular season, beginning Nov. 21. The voters also will choose winners of the inaugural Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman of the year) and the 25th Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) to be presented at the FCS national awards banquet Friday night, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. The Sports Network also presents and Fathead.com sponsors those two awards.

About The Sports Network

The Sports Network (www.sportsnetwork.com), North America’s foremost international real-time sports wire service, furnishes a wide range of content on a 24/7 basis utilizing state-of-the-art technology which sets the tone and standard for the entire industry. From statistics to news, weather and injury reports to instant scores, branded product and gamecasts to photography and complete fantasy coverage data, domestic or world-wide, radio or TV, print or Internet, mobile to signage, TSN leads the way.

About Fathead

Fathead LLC is the industry leader of authentic officially licensed sports and entertainment graphic products. Fathead gives fans the opportunity to “FEEL The REAL” by bringing their favorite passion or inspiration to life. Fathead products include Fathead Customs and Fathead “Real Big”, the life-size, high definition wall graphics of professional athletes, animated heroes, entertainment characters, team stadiums, helmets and logos. Fathead maintains license agreements with leading consumer brands across many industries and professional sports leagues. For more information, visit www.fathead.com.

SOURCE The Sports Network

Source: PR Newswire