Last updated on April 19, 2014 at 1:20 EDT

Bell, Lum, Mitchell Invited to Walter Payton Award Announcement

December 2, 2011

PHILADELPHIA, Dec. 2, 2011 /PRNewswire/ — (Sports Network) — Quarterbacks Chris Lum of Lehigh and Bo Levi Mitchell of Eastern Washington and running back Shakir Bell of Indiana State have been invited to the Football Championship Subdivision Awards Banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas, for the announcement of the 25th Walter Payton Award.

The Sports Network presents and Fathead.com sponsors the FCS’ most prestigious award, which is given to the outstanding player in the division.

The three top vote-getters put together glowing resumes this season:

Bell, a 5-foot-7, 185-pound sophomore, was the No. 1 rusher in the FCS during the regular season, gaining 1,670 yards and 14 touchdowns on 230 carries, for 151.8 yards per game. The Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player of the Year had four 200-yard games and missed a fifth one by one yard, helping Indiana State to a 6-5 record as it continued a remarkable turnaround as a program.

Lum, a 6-2, 205 senior, finished the regular season ranked third in the FCS in passing yards (348.6) and second in touchdown passes (31). He completed 297 of 443 pass attempts (67 percent) for 3,739 yards. The Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year can build on those totals as he has helped lead the league champion Mountain Hawks (10-1) to the FCS playoffs.

Mitchell, a 6-2, 210-pound senior, led the FCS in passing yards (4,009) and touchdown passes (33) in the regular season. As Eastern Washington (6-5) suffered through an injury-plagued season, the Big Sky Conference Offensive Player of the Year helped keep the Eagles competitive, completing 318-of-503 attempts (63.2 percent), with four 400-yard games.

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries selected all of the FCS awards. In the Walter Payton Award balloting, William & Mary senior running back Jonathan Grimes finished fourth and Elon junior wide receiver Aaron Mellette was fifth.

They were followed in the voting by Towson running back Terrance West, Sam Houston State running back Tim Flanders, New Hampshire quarterback Kevin Decker, Bryant running back Jordan Brown, Jackson State quarterback Casey Therriault, Murray State quarterback Casey Brockman, Northern Iowa quarterback Tirrell Rennie, Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee, Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein, Appalachian State wide receiver Brian Quick, Delaware running back Andrew Pierce, Liberty quarterback Mike Brown, Southern Utah quarterback Brad Sorensen, Youngstown State running back Jamaine Cook, Idaho State wide receiver Rodrick Rumble, Eastern Kentucky running back Matt Denham and Richmond wide receiver Tre Gray.

About The Sports Network

The Sports Network (www.sportsnetwork.com), North America’s foremost international real-time sports wire service, furnishes a wide range of content on a 24/7 basis utilizing state-of-the-art technology which sets the tone and standard for the entire industry. From statistics to news, weather and injury reports to instant scores, branded product and gamecasts to photography and complete fantasy coverage data, domestic or world-wide, radio or TV, print or Internet, mobile to signage, TSN leads the way.

About Fathead

Fathead LLC is the Real.Big. leading brand in sports and entertainment graphic products. Fathead products give fans the opportunity to bring their favorite passion or inspiration to life. Fathead wall graphics include Fathead Customs, Fathead Canvas and Print Murals and Fathead’s flagship “Real Big:” the officially licensed life-size, high definition wall graphics of professional athletes, animated heroes, entertainment characters, team helmets and logos. Fathead maintains license agreements with leading consumer brands across many industries and professional sports leagues. For more information, visit www.fathead.com.

SOURCE The Sports Network

Source: PR Newswire