Last updated on April 16, 2014 at 21:24 EDT

Comcast Awards $54,000 in Scholarships to Connecticut High School Seniors

May 1, 2012

HARTFORD, Conn., May 1, 2012 /PRNewswire/ — The Comcast Foundation, founded in 1999 to provide charitable support to its local communities and to empower and enrich lives, is awarding 45 Connecticut high school seniors scholarships through its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program. The program, one of the Comcast Foundation’s signature community investment programs, recognizes students’ leadership skills, academic achievement and commitment to community service.

Comcast, joined by State Senators Gary LeBeau and Robert Kane, State Representatives Brian Becker, Christie Carpino, James Crawford, Matthew Lesser, Robert Sampson, John Thompson and other government officials, recognized the students at a special event held today at the Connecticut State Capitol. Forty-four of the 2012 Connecticut Leaders and Achievers recipients received $1,000 scholarships and one lucky student was awarded a $10,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship – instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation – for a total of $54,000 awarded in Connecticut this year.

“I would like to congratulate all of the scholarship winners and thank the Comcast Foundation for recognizing the achievements of some of our state’s brightest young minds,” said Education Commissioner Stefan Pryor. “I encourage our winners to continue to engage both academics and civic involvement with the enthusiasm they have demonstrated to this point in their academic career.”

“Comcast has a vested interest in providing our youth with opportunities to excel and succeed in a highly competitive higher education landscape and job market,” said Mary McLaughlin, Senior Vice President for Comcast’s Western New England Region, which includes Connecticut. “We commend these students for their outstanding achievements, and wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors.”

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to be prepared for the future, to engage youth in their communities, and to demonstrate the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community.

Since the program’s inception there have been over 17,000 scholarship winners totaling more than $17.2 million. A list of the scholarship recipients in Connecticut is detailed below.

About the Comcast Foundation

The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified non-profit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities — promoting community service, expanding digital literacy, and building tomorrow’s leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated over $108 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at www.comcast.com/community.

About Comcast Cable

Comcast Corporation (Nasdaq: CMCSA) (www.comcast.com) is one of the nation’s leading providers of entertainment, information and communications products and services. Comcast is principally involved in the operation of cable systems through Comcast Cable and in the development, production and distribution of entertainment, news, sports and other content for global audiences through NBCUniversal. Comcast Cable is one of the nation’s largest video, high-speed Internet and phone providers to residential and business customers. Comcast is the majority owner and manager of NBCUniversal, which owns and operates entertainment and news cable networks, the NBC and Telemundo broadcast networks, local television station groups, television production operations, a major motion picture company and theme parks.

2012 Connecticut Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Recipients

    First Name Last Name  Hometown         High School
    ---------- ---------  --------         -----------
    Pooja      Agrawal    West Hartford    Hall High School
    Tessa      Bloomquist Branford         Hopkins School
    Rebecca    Borovsky   Burlington       Lewis S. Mills High School
    Fabio      Caetano    Waterbury        Waterbury Arts Magnet School
    Alex       Cannata    Higganum         Haddam-Killingworth High School
    Lily       Cannon     West Hartford    Conard High School
    Sarah      Chapell    Westbrook        Westbrook High School
    Jillian    DiTota     Wallingford      Mark T. Sheehan High School
    Elias      Gharios    Pawcatuck        Stonington High School
    Jasmin     Gonzalez   New Haven        High School In The Community
    Damon      Gray       Portland         Portland High School
    Daniel     Haugh      Farmington       Farmington High School
    Erin       Hillis     Derby            Sacred Heart Academy
    Elizabeth  Iorio      North Stonington Wheeler High School
    Macaire    Jones      Danbury          Danbury High School
    Cieara     Juliano    East Hampton     East Hampton High School
    Cody       Laplante   New Britain      New Britain High School
    Zachary    LaVigne    Durham           Coginchaug Regional High School
    Juan       Lluberes   Guilford         Guilford High School
    Jenna      Luck       Bolton           Bolton High School
    Kenrick    Mattison   Bloomfield       Bloomfield High School
    Elizabeth  May        Windsor          Windsor High School
    Aurelien   McHenold   Hartford         Classical Magnet School
    Brian      Michalka   Bethel           Bethel High School
    Christian  Murphy     West Hartford    Northwest Catholic High
    Hiachira   Nieves     Manchester       A. I. Prince V-T School
    Patrick    O'Dell     Beacon Falls     Woodland Regional High School
    Catherine  Oidtman    Old Lyme         Mercy High
    Stephanie  Orts       Seymour          Seymour High School
    Tullio     Ossa       Hamden           Notre Dame High School
    Kyle       Packnick   Shelton          Shelton High School
    Marcus     Pugliese   Bolton           Kingswood Oxford School
    Alex       Pugnali    Bloomfield       Metropolitan Learning Center
    April      Regan      Wallingford      Lyman Hall High School
    Elliot     Rogers     Simsbury         Simsbury High School
    Samantha   Rosenbaum  Derby            New Haven Academy
    Kyla       Sead       West Haven       Hill Regional Career High School
    Micala     Smith      Baltic           Academy of the Holy Family
    Dylan      Stempel    Ivoryton         Valley Regional High School
    Carolann   Terry      Norwich          Norwich Technical High School
    Dashauna   Tyson      New Haven        Riverside Educational Academy
    Erin       Ward       Wolcott          Wolcott High School
    Alexander  Weiner     Ellington        Ellington High School
    Victor     Wu         Durham           Xavier High
    Gowtham    Yenduri    East Lyme        East Lyme High School

SOURCE Comcast Cable

Source: PR Newswire