Last updated on April 18, 2014 at 0:07 EDT

Mel Brooks To Receive 41st AFI Life Achievement Award

October 5, 2012

LOS ANGELES, Oct. 5, 2012 /PRNewswire/ — Sir Howard Stringer, Chair of the American Film Institute’s Board of Trustees, announced today the Board’s decision to honor Mel Brooks with the 41st AFI Life Achievement Award, the highest honor for a career in film. The award will be presented to Brooks at a gala tribute on Thursday, June 6, 2013 in Los Angeles, CA.

(Photo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20121005/LA87623)

“Mel Brooks is America’s long-reigning king of comedy – and as he taught us long ago, it’s good to be the king,” said Stringer. “He’s a master of an art form that rarely gets the respect it deserves, and it is AFI’s honor to shine a bright light on laughter by presenting Mel Brooks the 41st AFI Life Achievement Award.”

Reflecting his range of mastery in the entertainment arts – from writing, directing and producing to acting and composing – Brooks is only one of 14 people who have won the Emmy(®), Grammy(®), Oscar(®) and Tony(®) Award. Brooks is best known for his comedy films including THE PRODUCERS (1968), BLAZING SADDLES (1974), YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN (1974), SILENT MOVIE (1976), HIGH ANXIETY (1977), HISTORY OF THE WORLD PART 1 (1981), TO BE OR NOT TO BE (1983), SPACEBALLS (1987), LIFE STINKS (1991), ROBIN HOOD: MEN IN TIGHTS (1993) and DRACULA: DEAD AND LOVING IT (1995) – and he was also executive producer on the Academy Award(®)-winning THE ELEPHANT MAN (1980). His films have been recognized by the American Film Institute as among the funniest American movies of all time, with three films in the top 15 of AFI’s 100 Years…100 Laughs list: BLAZING SADDLES at #6, THE PRODUCERS at #11 and YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN at #13.

The 41st AFI Life Achievement Award tribute special will premiere on TNT in late June 2013, followed by encores on its sister network, Turner Classic Movies (TCM). The AFI-Turner relationship is an expansion of an alliance that began in 2011 with TCM PRESENTS AFI’S MASTER CLASS: THE ART OF COLLABORATION, a series of specials taped in front of an audience comprised of AFI Fellows studying filmmaking at the world-renowned AFI Conservatory. The specials explore some of the greatest artistic collaborations in film, beginning with Steven Spielberg and John Williams in November 2011 and continuing with David O. Russell and Mark Wahlberg in May 2012. A third special is slated to air on TCM in winter 2013.

Sponsors of the 2013 AFI Life Achievement Award tribute to Mel Brooks include HP, Deloitte and American Airlines, the official airline of the American Film Institute.

The highest honor given for a career in film, the AFI Life Achievement Award was established by the AFI Board of Trustees on February 26, 1973. It is presented to a single honoree each year based on the following criteria as mandated through a resolution passed by the AFI Board of Trustees:

“The recipient should be one whose talent has in a fundamental way advanced the film art; whose accomplishment has been acknowledged by scholars, critics, professional peers and the general public; and whose work has stood the test of time.”

    Honored Recipients

    1973              John Ford        1994 Jack Nicholson
    1974              James Cagney     1995 Steven Spielberg
    1975              Orson Welles     1996 Clint Eastwood
    1976              William Wyler    1997 Martin Scorsese
    1977              Bette Davis      1998 Robert Wise
    1978              Henry Fonda      1999 Dustin Hoffman
    1979              Alfred Hitchcock 2000 Harrison Ford
    1980              James Stewart    2001 Barbra Streisand
    1981              Fred Astaire     2002 Tom Hanks
    1982              Frank Capra      2003 Robert De Niro
    1983              John Huston      2004 Meryl Streep
    1984              Lillian Gish     2005 George Lucas
    1985              Gene Kelly       2006 Sean Connery
    1986              Billy Wilder     2007 Al Pacino
    1987              Barbara Stanwyck 2008 Warren Beatty
    1988              Jack Lemmon      2009 Michael Douglas
    1989              Gregory Peck     2010 Mike Nichols
    1990              David Lean       2011 Morgan Freeman
    1991              Kirk Douglas     2012 Shirley MacLaine
    1992              Sidney Poitier   2013 Mel Brooks
    1993              Elizabeth Taylor

For the complete version of this press release, visit http://www.afi.com/about/press.aspx

SOURCE American Film Institute

Source: PR Newswire