Quantcast
Last updated on April 21, 2014 at 1:20 EDT

KEXP Returns to Iceland Airwaves Festival with Live Broadcast of 15 Performances

October 24, 2012

SEATTLE, Oct. 24, 2012 /PRNewswire/ — KEXP, the internationally-renowned, Seattle-based radio station, announced today its return to the Land of Fire and Ice for a series of live broadcasts from the Iceland Airwaves in cooperation with Iceland Naturally, KEX Hostel, Icelandair and Kimi Records. Broadcasting once again from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik, DJs Cheryl Waters and Kevin Cole will host the performances on 90.3 FM and online at KEXP.org Oct. 31-Nov. 2 from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. PDT.

“Our Iceland Airwaves broadcast is a great way to connect music lovers in Seattle and worldwide to some of the best new music being created” said Cole, senior director of programing and host of the Afternoon Show. “As much as anything we do, these broadcasts embody our mission to champion new music discovery.”

In addition to artists such as Olafur Arnalds, Ulfur Ulfur and Ghostigital, the 2012 festival will include a joint set by acclaimed Seattle hip-hop acts, Shabazz Palaces and THEESatisfaction. The full schedule of broadcast follows.

In addition to the broadcast, the KEXP team will conduct approximately 15-20 field recording sessions with Icelandic artists throughout Reykjavik. The field recording performances will be produced and shared online at KEXP.org after the trip concludes.

This year marks KEXP’s fourth trip to Iceland Airwaves. Previous visits have included fan-favorite performances by Of Monsters and Men and FM Belfast, the latter of which will also play the 2012 festival.

The Iceland Airwaves broadcasts is a joint project of KEXP and Iceland Naturally. They’re presented by KEXP in partnership with KEX Hostel, Kimi Records, the City of Reykjavik, Icelandair, Iceland Airwaves, 66° North, Blue Lagoon, Icelandic Glacial Water, and Reyka Vodka.

KEXP’s ICELAND AIRWAVES BROADCAST SCHEDULE

Wednesday, Oct. 31
06:00AM PST/ 13:00 GMT – Soley
08:00AM PST/ 15:00 GMT – Blouse
10:00AM PST/ 17:00 GMT – Tilbury
11:30AM PST/ 18:30 GMT – Mr. Silla
01:30PM PST/ 20:30 GMT – FM Belfast

Thursday, Nov. 1
06:00AM PST/ 13:00 GMT – Olafur Arnalds
08:00AM PST/ 15:00 GMT – Apparat Organ Quartet
10:00AM PST/ 17:00 GMT – Hjalmari
11:30AM PST/ 18:30 GMT – Shabazz Palaces/THEESatisfaction
01:30PM PST/ 20:30 GMT – Exitmusic

Friday, Nov. 2
06:00AM PST/ 13:00 GMT – Ojba Rasta
08:00AM PST/ 15:00 GMT – Ghostigital
10:00AM PST/ 17:00 GMT – Solstafir
11:30AM PST/ 18:30 GMT – Ulfur Ulfur
01:30PM PST/ 20:30 GMT – Sin Fang

About KEXP:
KEXP is one of the most influential listener-supported music radio stations in the country. More than 200,000 listeners from around the world tune in to the station each week over the air and online. On KEXP’s YouTube channel, videos of exclusive in-studio performances garner more than 1 million views per week. KEXP produces over 500 live performances each year. For more information, please visit www.kexp.org.

About Iceland Naturally:
Iceland Naturally is a cooperative marketing organization that promotes the tourism, services, products and culture of Iceland. It represents the true essence of Iceland, its creativity and spectacular natural wonders. The group is comprised of Icelandair, Icelandic Group., Islandsbanki, Reyka Vodka, City of Reykjavik, Icelandic Glacial Water, 66° NORTH, Blue Lagoon, Keflavik International Airport (KEF), Landsvirkjun, Promote Iceland and the Government of Iceland. For more information, please visit www.icelandnaturally.com.

SOURCE Iceland Naturally


Source: PR Newswire