Last updated on April 23, 2014 at 21:24 EDT

CJF News: Upcoming J-Talks, Nominate your choice for the Lifetime Achievement Award

January 23, 2013

TORONTO, Jan. 23, 2013 /CNW/ -

Journalism, Disrupted: How to Create Media Innovation
J-Source will livestream and liveblog this sold-out event, and you can
follow along on Twitter at #cjfjtalk. Details regarding live coverage
will be available soon on our J-Talks page.

New tools, devices and technologies have proven to be powerful in
reshaping journalism, whether in content distribution and consumption
or in the newsroom structure itself. With the federal government
committing $400 million to fund early-stage, venture-capital start-ups,
could this money boost journalistic innovation? What, exactly, does
media innovation look like?

Join Zach Seward, senior editor at Atlantic Media’s device-centric
business news venture Quartz; Michael De Monte, CEO of ScribbleLive; David Skok, co-author of Breaking News: Mastering the Art of Disruptive Innovation in Journalism and director of digital for Global News; and moderator Marissa Nelson, acting director of digital media for CBC News and Centres, for a discussion on what traditional media companies can
learn from tech start-ups and how innovation can be fostered within

Where: TMX Broadcast Centre – Gallery, 130 King St. W., The Exchange Tower,

When: Thursday, January 31, Registration: 6:30 p.m. / Discussion: 7:00 p.m. / Reception: 8:30 p.m.

For more information and to put your name on our waitlist: http://cjfinnovation.eventbrite.com

Upcoming J-Talks: Save the Dates

On February 28, the CJF will present a discussion on media ethics in the aftermath of
the Newtown, Conn. shootings. Kathy English, public editor at the Toronto Star, will moderate this panel featuring Andy Carvin, senior social media strategist at NPR and author of Distant Witness; Esther Enkin, ombudsman for CBC English services; and Mathew Ingram, senior writer at GigaOM. Signed copies of Carvin’s book Distant Witness will be available for purchase at a discounted rate when you buy your
ticket online.

Our April 25 arts panel features Peter Schjeldahl, arts critic and staff writer at The New Yorker, Ben Brantley, chief theatre critic for The New York Times, and Robert Cushman, theatre arts critic with The National Post.

More details coming soon on our CJF J-Talks page.

CJF Awards
Awards and fellowships

            Lifetime Achievement Award
            recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding lifetime
            contribution to journalism in Canada. Nomination deadline:
            January 28.
        --  The Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University
            is awarded bi-annually and allows the recipient to enjoy a
            one-year sabbatical at Harvard University. Application
            deadline: February 1.
        --  The annual
            Excellence in Journalism Award
            honours an organization that embodies exemplary journalistic
            standards and practices. Application deadline: February 28.
        --  The
            William Southam Journalism Fellowships,
            awarded annually by the University of Toronto and Massey
            College, reward journalists with a year-long program of study
            at Massey College in the discipline of their choice.
            Application deadline: March 1.
        --  The annual
            Greg Clark Award
            is designed to offer early-career journalists a professional
            development opportunity that will allow them to gain insight,
            strategic information and meet key decision-makers in a sector
            or issue they regularly cover. Application deadline: March 15.

The 16th Annual CJF Awards

Celebrate journalistic excellence with host Amanda Lang, senior business correspondent for CBC News and co-host of The Lang and O’Leary Exchange, at our 16th Annual CJF Awards.

Our series of awards and fellowships will be presented on June 13 at The
Fairmont Royal York in Toronto. This includes the annual Honorary
Tribute, which will celebrate The New York Times and its reporters for the leading role they play in inspiring better
journalism the world over. The Times‘s executive editor, Jill Abramson, will accept the tribute on behalf of the organization.

Take advantage of early-bird rates for tickets and tables, available until March 29.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation thanks the following organizations
for their support of its awards: BMO Financial Group, Labatt, RBC, Accenture, Waste Management Canada, CNW, The Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star

Limited sponsorship opportunities still available.

J-Source/ProjetJ News

ProjetJ is pleased to announce Jean-Philippe Cipriani as its new editor-in-chief. Prior to this position, Cipriani helped
launch Huffington Post Quebec, where he held the position of news
editor. He previously worked as a journalist for Radio-Canada across
online, radio and television for more than ten years. As part of his
duties to the public network, he directed teams for special coverage of
events such as the Olympics and election nights. Cipriani started his
journalism career at Le Soleil.

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

Source: PR Newswire