Last updated on April 20, 2014 at 14:04 EDT

Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Bestowing of Diamond Jubilee Medals to Canadian Athletes

January 25, 2013

VANCOUVER and OTTAWA, Jan. 25, 2013 /CNW/ – Today, I invite you to join
me in congratulating Canada’s outstanding athletes as they receive The
Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

As Minister of State (Sport), and a big Team Canada fan, I could not be
more proud of the accomplishments of our exceptional Olympic and
Paralympic athletes at the London 2012 Games. They showed the world
what they could do and made Canada proud. It is only fitting that
today, in Her Majesty’s honour, we recognize the achievements of these
exceptional athletes who have worked hard to serve their communities
and country.

The following athletes received their Diamond Jubilee medals at
ceremonies in Ottawa and Vancouver:

    Douglas Blessin         Travis Murao

    Ian Chan                Tobias Ng

    Nathan Dewitt           Joelle Numainville

    Bradedon Dolfo          Scott Patterson

    Jason Dunkerley         Catharine Pendrel

    Jonathan Dunkerley      Courtnay Pilypaitis

    Kevin Evans             Joan Elizabeth Reid

    Brent Hayden            Doug Ripley

    Trevor Hirschfield      Jessica Smith

    Brianna Jennett-McNeill Nathan Stein

    Joshua Karanja          Anthony Theriault

    Stacie Louttit          Christos Trifonidis

    Dorothy Ludwig          Nick Tritton

    Michael Mason           Josh Vander Vies

    Riley McCormick         Jessica Vliegenthart

    Jan Margaret McLachlan  Dustin Walsh

    John McRoberts          Michael Wilkinson

    Sasha Mehmedovic        Dylan Williamson

    Meghan Montgomery       Aleksandra Wozniak

In addition, the following athletes received their Diamond Jubilee
Medals in December 2012:

    Joe Bartoch                  Janine Hanson

    David Blair                  Nikkita Holder

    Jacqueline Brooks            Brittany MacLean

    Aaron Brown                  Natalie Mastracci

    Rachael Burrows              Diana Matheson

    Robert Joshua (Josh) Cassidy Jessica Phoenix

    Reid Coolsaet                Leah Robinson

    Joel Dembe                   Tamara Steeves

    Tracey Ferguson              Shona Thorburn

    Sultana Frizell              Joseph Veloce

The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal is one of many ways in
which we are celebrating the 60(th) anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth’s accession to the Throne. A
total of 60,000 Diamond Jubilee Medals are being awarded to Canadians.
Presentations took place throughout 2012 and will continue until
February 28, 2013, the date when the program closes.

Commemorations like the Diamond Jubilee contribute to our collective
identity and help define who we are as Canadians. As our athletes
prepare for future challenges, especially the Pan and Parapan American
Games that Canada will host in 2015, let us look forward to our
country’s 150(th )anniversary in 2017 and celebrate all of the things that make Canada the
united, strong, and free country it is today.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada,
I invite Canadians to join me in honouring these special Canadians.


SOURCE Canadian Heritage

Source: PR Newswire