Last updated on April 19, 2014 at 18:42 EDT

Have you made a difference? The Canadian Journalism Foundation calls for applications for its annual Excellence in Journalism Award

January 30, 2013

TORONTO, Jan. 30, 2013 /CNW/ – News organizations that foster
creativity, innovation and risk-taking are encouraged to apply for the
annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Excellence in Journalism Award. Streamlined criteria and a new online form will make it easier for news organizations across the country to submit
applications. The deadline for submissions is February 28.

Since 1996, the Canadian Journalism Foundation has celebrated news
organizations that embrace ideals of journalistic excellence -
accuracy, independence, accountability, courage and originality – with
its annual Excellence in Journalism Award. Winners are selected in two
categories: 1) large or national media and 2) small or local media.

Past winners include:

    2012      The Current - CBC Radio One (large media)

              Vancouver Observer (small media)

    2011      Toronto Star (large media)

              CBC Manitoba (small media)

    2010      Toronto Star (large media)

              Metroland Durham Region (small media)

    2009      The Winnipeg Free Press (large media)

              The Tyee (small media)

    2008      The Canadian Press (large media)

              The St. John's Telegram (small media)

    2007      The Hamilton Spectator (large media)

              The Guelph Mercury (small media)

    2006      The Globe and Mail

    2005      The Hamilton Spectator

    2004      CBC News

    2003      The Record, Kitchener

    2002      CTV News

“There are always challenges to the way news organizations are run and
there are practices that may get overlooked,” says Chris Waddell, chair
of the jury and director of the School of Journalism and Education for
Carleton University. “This award sheds a light on all that a news
outlet should be taking into account and celebrates the ones that

Last year’s winner in the large-media category was CBC Radio One’s The Current. Upon accepting the award at the CJF Gala, program host Anna Maria
Tremonti delivered a speech that resonated with the journalists in the audience.

“So next time a boss tells you – and this is a message to all the young
journalists out there, and not-so-young journalists – to do a story you
don’t want to do, come up with three others you do, and fight for
them,” said Tremonti. “Take your journalism back.”

The online Vancouver Observer won last year’s Excellence in Journalism Award in the small-media

A shortlist will be announced in April, with the winner to be announced
at the 16(th) Annual CJF Awards at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto on June 13, 2013. Early-bird rates for tickets and tables are available until March 29.

For more information, visit our website.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation

Founded in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a
not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by
celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual
awards program; by operating journalism websites, J-Source.ca (English)
and ProjetJ.ca (French), in cooperation with the country’s leading
journalism schools; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among
journalists, business people, government officials, academics and
students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by
fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and




SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

Source: PR Newswire