Last updated on April 19, 2014 at 18:42 EDT

The Canadian Journalism Foundation celebrates excellence at its 16th Annual CJF Awards

May 9, 2013

TORONTO, May 9, 2013 /CNW/ – Jill Abramson, executive editor of The New York Times, Ken Taylor, former Canadian ambassador to Iran and Amanda Lang , senior business correspondent for CBC News and co-anchor of The Lang & O’Leary Exchange, will be among those recognizing journalistic excellence at the 16(th) Annual CJF Awards on June 13 at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

The CJF Awards is the industry’s must-attend event, where Canada’s top
newsmakers celebrate with Canada’s top news people. More than 400 of
the country’s business and media luminaries will honour individuals and
organizations that have made significant contributions to journalism
and recognize those who show exceptional promise.

Taylor will present the CJF Annual Honorary Tribute to the Times for its leading role in inspiring better journalism the world over. Abramson will accept the tribute on behalf of the Times‘s editorial staff. Lang is this year’s CJF Awards host.

“It has been a challenging year for the business of news, but a superb
time for the news business,” says Bob Lewis, chair of The Canadian Journalism Foundation. “It has been a year of outstanding investigative pieces across the
country, much good enterprise journalism and major innovation on both
traditional and digital platforms. Great journalism lives on.”

The winners of the Excellence in Journalism Award in the large-media and small-media categories will be announced at the
event. The Excellence in Journalism Award finalists in the large-media
category are:

CBC News: Special Investigations Unit
The Current – CBC Radio One
Postmedia News
Toronto Star
Winnipeg Free Press

The Excellence in Journalism Award finalists in the small-media category

CBC New Brunswick
Turtle Island News
The Tyee
Vancouver Observer

The Lifetime Achievement Award this year will be presented to Michael Maclear, a broadcast journalist, war correspondent and independent filmmaker.
Maclear was the CBC’s first Far East correspondent, reporting
extensively from South Vietnam and, as CBC’s London correspondent, was
the first Western network journalist permitted to film in North
Vietnam. Maclear was also CTV’s first foreign correspondent, based in
London. While an independent writer-producer for 35 years, he produced
the definitive documentary Vietnam: The Ten Thousand Day War, a 26-part television series, together with a book of the same title.
Maclear is currently writing a book on his experiences in North
Vietnam. Lisa LaFlamme, chief anchor and senior editor of CTV National News, will present the award.

The Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award will be presented to Galit Rodan, a freelance photojournalist, and the Greg Clark Award will be presented to Ashleigh Gaul, online editor for Up Here magazine. Other awards to be presented include the William Southam Journalism Fellowships, the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy and the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation thanks the following organizations
for their support of the awards: BMO Financial Group; Labatt; RBC; Accenture; Medtronic of Canada; Scotiabank; Postmedia Network; and Waste Management of Canada. Thank you also to CBC/Radio-Canada, CNW, National Post, Porter Airlines, The Globe and Mail, and Toronto Star for their in-kind donations.

For details about the CJF Awards, visit: http://cjf-fjc.ca/2013-cjf-awards. To see highlights from last year’s awards, visit our 2012 awards page. You can also visit our website for highlights from past award galas.

To view the special microsite set up for this announcement, please
visit: http://www.multivu.com/players/English/CNW0007-canadian-journalism-foundation-celebrates-excellence-16th-annual-CJF-awards/

Twitter: #cjfawards

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
Founded in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a
not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by
celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual
awards program; by operating journalism websites, J-Source.ca (English)
and ProjetJ.ca (French), in cooperation with the country’s leading
journalism schools; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among
journalists, business people, government officials, academics and
students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by
fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

Video with caption: “Video: Celebrate excellence with The Canadian Journalism Foundation at the 16th Annual CJF Awards.”. Video available at: http://stream1.newswire.ca/cgi-bin/playback.cgi?file=20130509_C4574_VIDEO_EN_26484.mp4&posterurl=http://photos.newswire.ca/images/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26484.jpg&clientName=Canadian%20Journalism%20Foundation&caption=Video%3A%20Celebrate%20excellence%20with%20The%20Canadian%20Journalism%20Foundation%20at%20the%2016th%20Annual%20CJF%20Awards%2E&title=CANADIAN%20JOURNALISM%20FOUNDATION%20%2D%20The%20Canadian%20Journalism%20Foundation%20celebrates%20excellence%20at%20its%2016th%20Annual%20CJF%20Awards&headline=The%20Canadian%20Journalism%20Foundation%20celebrates%20excellence%20at%20its%2016th%20Annual%20CJF%20Awards

Image with caption: “Amanda Lang, senior business correspondent with CBC News and co-anchor of The Lang and O’Leary Exchange, will host the 16th Annual CJF Awards. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)”. Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26478.jpg

Image with caption: “Jill Abramson, executive editor of The New York Times, will accept the CJF Honorary Tribute on behalf of the Times’s editorial staff. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)”. Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26480.jpg

Image with caption: “Ken Taylor, former Canadian ambassador, will present the CJF Honorary Tribute to The New York Times. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)”. Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26481.jpg

Image with caption: “Michael Maclear, broadcast journalist, war correspondent and independent filmmaker, is the recipient of this year’s CJF Lifetime Achievement Award. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)”. Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26483.jpg

Image with caption: “Lisa LaFlamme, chief anchor and senior editor of CTV National News, will present this year’s CJF Lifetime Achievement Award. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)”. Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26482.jpg

Image with caption: “Ashleigh Gaul, online editor with Up Here magazine, is the winner of the Greg Clark Award for early-career journalists. (CNW Group/Canadian Journalism Foundation)”. Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20130509_C4574_PHOTO_EN_26479.jpg

Source: PR Newswire