Last updated on April 16, 2014 at 14:05 EDT

David Carr to accept Honorary Tribute on behalf of The New York Times at the 16th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards

June 3, 2013

TORONTO, June 3, 2013 /CNW/ – David Carr, business columnist and culture reporter for The New York Times, will accept this year’s Canadian Journalism Foundation Honorary Tribute on behalf of the Time‘s editorial team, for the leading role they play in inspiring better
journalism the world over. The tribute will take place at the 16(th) Annual CJF Awards on June 13 at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

The CJF Honorary Tribute typically recognizes a media luminary who has
made an impact on the international stage. This will be the first time
the Tribute will be paid to an organization.

Carr’s “Media Equation” column explores the implications of the changing
media landscape. He also writes about film, television, music and
theater for the culture pages. Carr is a regular contributor to the
Media Decoder blog and does a weekly video series, The Sweet Spot, with Times chief film critic A. O. Scott about the intersection of culture and
business. He is one of the subjects of Page One, a documentary about The New York Times that was released in 2011.

Past honourees include Peter Jennings, the late anchor and senior editor of ABC’s World News Tonight; Robert MacNeil, news anchor and co-creator of The MacNeil/Lehrer Report; Morley Safer, CBS News correspondent and Graydon Carter, editor of Vanity Fair.

Amanda Lang, senior business correspondent for CBC News and co-anchor of The Lang and O’Leary Exchange, will host this year’s Awards.

The annual CJF Awards night is when Canada’s top newsmakers meet
Canada’s top news people. Five hundred of the country’s business and
media leaders will celebrate excellence in journalism and honour those
who have made significant contributions to the profession throughout
their careers.

At the Awards, the CJF will present the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Excellence in Journalism Award - in two categories, large media and small media – the Greg Clark Award, the Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award, the William Southam Journalism Fellowships, the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy and the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation thanks the following organizations
for their support of the awards: BMO Financial Group, Labatt Breweries of Canada, Postmedia Network Inc., Accenture, RBC, Waste Management, Scotiabank, Medtronic, and Dr. F.L.R. (Eric) Jackman. Thank you also to the following organizations for their in-kind
support: CBC News, CNW, Porter Airlines, National Post, The Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in
journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through
an annual awards program; by operating journalism websites, J-Source.ca English and ProjetJ.ca (French), in co-operation with the country’s leading journalism
schools; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among
journalists, business people, government officials, academics and
students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by
fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

Source: PR Newswire