Last updated on April 20, 2014 at 21:20 EDT

ICPC Headquarters Announces ICPC Live Coverage for World Viewers

June 17, 2013

WACO, Texas, June 17, 2013 /PRNewswire/ — Today, ICPC Headquarters announced the live cast of the world’s premier team programming championship, the 37th Annual World Finals of the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) sponsored by IBM (NYSE: IBM) at the Jubilee Arena in St. Petersburg, Russia, Wednesday, July 3, from 9:15 AM to 5:30 PM, local time. Viewers can watch the world championship competition live at http://www.ICPCLive.com.

The 2013 World Finals will be hosted by St. Petersburg National Research University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics (ITMO), a perennial favorite and a four-time World Champion of the competition. The competition operates under the auspices of ACM, the world’s leading IT Society.

This year, ICPC Live coverage will be provided globally by Yandex (NASDAQ: YNDX), which has partnered with ITMO to host the World Finals. “The ACM ICPC World Finals Championship is a wonderful experience for programmers and a thrilling competition,” said Ilya Segalovich, Yandex’s Chief Technology Officer. “We are pleased to offer worldwide Internet viewers ICPC Live coverage in support of ITMO, with whom Yandex has had a close relationship for years.”

Also known as the Battle of the Brains, the ICPC is the world’s oldest and most prestigious programming competition. The contest features 120 teams and challenges students to solve complex real-world problems under a strict five hour deadline. Each team comprises three students and only one team will emerge victorious to claim “The World’s Smartest Trophy.” Friends and family will be able to join them through ICPC Live.

“The 2013 ACM ICPC World Finals is a milestone in our joint effort to nurture the next generation technology leaders,” said Roman Elizarov, 2013 World Finals Director. “We are combining the vision, commitment, and expertise of IBM, ITMO, and Russian Internet leader Yandex to shine the spotlight on top students and universities from 91 countries on six continents and, of course, my country, Russia.”

This year’s contest will expose students to key emerging trends and capabilities, such as applying analytics technology to Big Data – a major economic growth engine and career opportunity worldwide.

For more information about the contest, visit ICPC News at http://icpc.baylor.edu or on Facebook, YouTube or Twitter.

The “Battle of the Brains” podcast series is at www.battleofthebrains.podbean.com. RSS feeds are available. For IBM’s insights, visit www.ibm.com/university/acmcontest/. You can also follow the contest on Twitter.

Teams in the contest:

Africa and the Middle East: Alexandria University – Faculty of Engineering; The American University in Cairo; Arab Academy for Science and Technology – Alexandria; Cairo University – Faculty of Computers and Information; German University in Cairo; Tishreen University; University of Cape Town

Asia: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology; Shahjalal University of Science and Technology; Beihang University; Beijing Institute of Technology; Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications; Fudan University; Harbin Institute of Technology; Huazhong University of Science & Technology; Ningbo Institute of Technology, ZJU; Northeast Normal University; Peking University; Renmin University of China; Shanghai Jiao Tong University; South China University of Technology; Tianjin University; Tsinghua University; University of Electronic Science and Technology of China; Zhejiang University; Zhongshan (Sun Yat-sen) University; Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; The Chinese University of Hong Kong; University of Hong Kong; Institut Teknologi Bandung; Chennai Mathematical Institute; Indian Institute of Technology – Bombay; Indian Institute of Technology – Indore; Indian Institute of Technology – Roorkee; International Institute of Information Technology – Hyderabad; Amirkabir University of Technology; Sharif University of Technology; University of Tehran; The University of Electro-Communications; The University of Tokyo; Tokyo Institute of Technology; KAIST; SungKyunKwan University; Nanyang Technological University; National University of Singapore; National Taiwan University; Can Tho University

Europe & the Russian Federation: Belarusian State University; Ludwig-Maximilians Universitat Munchen; International IT University; Kazakh-British Technical University; Kaunas University of Technology; Universitet Leiden; Jagiellonian University in Krakow; University of Warsaw; University of Wroclaw; University of Bucharest; Altai State Technical University; Izhevsk State Technical University; Moscow Aviation Institute; Moscow Institute of Physics & Technology; Moscow State Institute of Steel and Alloys; Moscow State University; Novosibirsk State University; Perm State University; Saint Petersburg Academic University; Samara State Aerospace University; Saratov State University; St. Petersburg National Research University of ITMO; St. Petersburg State University; Ufa State Aviation Technical University; Ural Federal University; Comenius University; Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya; ETH Zürich; Taras Shevchenko Kiev National University; V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University

Latin America: Universidad de Buenos Aires РFCEN; Universidad Nacional del Sur; Instituto Tecnologico de Aeronautica; Universidade de Sao Paulo РEscola Polit̩cnica; Universidade de Sao Paulo- Instituto de Ciencias Matematicas e de Computacao; Universidade Estadual de Campinas; Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais; Universidade Federal de Pernambuco; Universidad de Chile; EAFIT University; Universidad Nacional de Colombia РBogota; Universidad Tecnologica de Pereira; Universidad de La Habana; Universidad de las Ciencias Informaticas; Escuela Superior De Computo Instituto Politecnico Nacional; Universidad Panamericana Campus Bonaterra; Universidad Nacional de Ingenieria РFIIS

North America: University of Calgary; University of British Columbia; University of Lethbridge; University of Manitoba; University of Toronto; University of Waterloo; Carnegie Mellon University; Columbia University; LeTourneau University; Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; Stanford University; University of Central Florida; University of Chicago; University of Connecticut; University of Florida; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Maryland; University of Minnesota – Twin Cities; University of Southern California; University of Virginia; University of Wisconsin – Madison

South Pacific: University of New South Wales; University of Sydney

About the ACM ICPC
Headquartered at Baylor University (www.baylor.edu), the ACM ICPC is a global competition among the world’s university students, nurturing new generations of talent in the science and art of information technology. For more information about the ACM ICPC, including downloadable photographs, and the complete World Finals roster and final standings, visit ICPC headquarters Web site http://acmicpc.org. A podcast series “Battle of the Brains” is at www.battleofthebrains.podbean.com. RSS feeds are available. For IBM’s insights, visit www.ibm.com/university/acmcontest/. Follow the contest on Twitter at http://twitter.com/BrainBattleICPC.

Media Contact:
Chas Kurtz
For the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC)
(215) 790-4386

EDITOR’S NOTE: For media interested in attending the contest or interviewing representatives of ACM ICPC, IBM, and participants of the contest, please contact Chas Kurtz at (215) 790-4386. For high resolution images, please visit http://icpc.baylor.edu/digital/.


Source: PR Newswire