India to Launch Title Defence Against Traditional Rival Pakistan in Adelaide

July 30, 2013

New Zealand to face Sri Lanka in Christchurch and Australia to meet England in Melbourne on the opening day of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

(PRWEB) July 30, 2013

New Zealand to face Sri Lanka in Christchurch and Australia to meet England in Melbourne on the opening day of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

MCG to host the final on 29 March.

Video news release of both the events will be available via the ICC Online Media Zone and SNTV.

Images available here but must be credited to ICC/Getty.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be staged in Australia and New Zealand from 14 February to 29 March, and India will begin its title defence against traditional rival Pakistan in Adelaide on 15 February, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today.

India, which won the 2011 event when it defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final in Mumbai, will complete its group fixtures against Zimbabwe at Eden Park, Auckland, on 14 March. In the group, India will also play South Africa (in Melbourne on 22 February), Qualifier 4 (in Perth on 28 February), West Indies (in Perth on 6 March) and Ireland* (in Hamilton on 10 March).

Looking ahead to the tournament, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said: “It only seems like yesterday that we won the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 in front of a passionate and supportive home crowd.

“World Cup is a very special event for every cricketer because it only takes place every four years. Having tasted success in Mumbai in 2011, we’ll be working very hard to retain it.

“I’m keenly looking forward to the tournament and confident that we’ll do well. Our recent victory in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 has provided the team with a lot of confidence, and I am sure this experience will help us in our preparations for the World Cup in 2015.”

The tournament opens on 14 February with co-hosts Australia and New Zealand playing their first matches on the opening day of the tournament in front of their home crowds, while the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final on 29 March.

New Zealand will square off against 1996 champion Sri Lanka in the tournament opener in Christchurch, while later on the same day, under the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) floodlights, four-time former champion Australia will go head-to-head with arch rival England.

New Zealand will also host Australia when the two neighbouring countries lock horns in Auckland on 28 March.

A total of 49 matches will be played in the 44-day tournament across 14 venues in the two countries. Australia will stage 26 matches in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, whilst the 23 matches in New Zealand will be held in Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington.

The 14 sides (10 Full Members and four qualifiers), as per their rankings on the Reliance ICC ODI Rankings table on 31 December 2012, have been divided into two pools:

Pool A



Sri Lanka


New Zealand

Qualifier 2

Qualifier 3

Pool B

South Africa



West Indies



Qualifier 4

The top four sides from each pool will progress to the quarter-finals, followed by the two semi-finals and the final. All the knock-out matches will have reserve days.

ICC President Alan Isaac, who attended the event launch in Wellington, said: “I’m delighted to be part of this historic occasion as today we officially start the countdown to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, an event that, over the past 40 years, has become a truly global event.

“ICC events have established a unique place in the cricket calendar, and, as we’ve seen at our most recent events in Sri Lanka and the United Kingdom, players, sponsors, media, fans and supporters from all around the world want to be part of the spectacle.

“Sport is synonymous with life in Australia and New Zealand, and both countries boast some of the best facilities in the world. With the World Cup returning to these shores for the first time since 1992, I am sure it will be an event to remember.”

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson, who attended the event launch in Melbourne, said: “The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game. The 2015 tournament will mark 40 years since the first World Cup in 1975 and that history of great contests and heroes helps make the tournament what it is – the most sought after prize in our increasingly global game.

“The ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be returning to Australia and New Zealand after 23 years and will be staged at the back of two outstanding 50-over ICC events – the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

“I’m absolutely confident that the success of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 Internationals.”

John Harnden, Chief Executive of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Local Organising Committee, said ticket prices would be announced later in the year, and that tickets would be affordable.

“This tournament is about the best teams, the best players and their endurance and skills that will see only the best left standing. We want as many fans as possible to be a part of this rare event,” Mr Harnden said.

“Australia and New Zealand have diverse communities who are passionate about their heritage and very passionate about cricket. We’ll be working hard in local communities to ensure they can follow their teams, attend matches and play a part in the event in 2015.”

“The result is a great one for cricket and fans of both countries. We have every team playing in both countries, equal number of host cities and pool games. This will be a summer that inspires young cricketers and provides lasting memories.”


Notes to Editors:

Full details on the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 and tournament qualification are available at http://www.cricketworldcup.com, where fans can also register for ticketing news and other tournament updates.

Ticketing information including tiers and packages will be released later this year.

*Ireland became the first side to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 when it won the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship. Qualifier 2 will be side that claims second position in the competition, which finishes on 4 October.

The remaining two places/positions in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will be filled by the finalists from the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2014 that will be staged in New Zealand in January/February. The side that wins the tournament will become Qualifier 3, while the losing finalist will be Qualifier 4.

For further information on the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship and qualification structure, please visit http://www.icc-cricket.com/world-cricket-league.

ICC Online Media Zone

The ICC Online Media Zone at http://www.icc-cricket.com/mediazone is free to access and available to all accredited media.


Images from both the events are available at http://mm.gettyimages.com/mm/nicePath/iccpublicuser?nav=pr193116414 but must be credited as ICC/Getty Images.

For further information, please contact:

Sami Ul Hasan

ICC – Media and Communications Manager (in Wellington for ICC CWC 2015 event launch, +1200 GMT)

UAE Mobile: +971 50 452 8662

Email: sami.ulhasan(at)icc-cricket(dot)com

Tim Whittaker

Senior Media and PR Advisor – ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 (Australia)

Australia mobile – +61 433 170 815

Email: tim.whittaker(at)cricketworldcup(dot)com

Philip Clark

Senior Media and PR Advisor – ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 (New Zealand)

New Zealand mobile: +64 278 385 710

Email: philip.clark(at)cricketworldcup(dot)com


PO Box 500 070

Dubai, UAE

Tel: +971 4 382 88 00

Fax: +971 4 382 86 00


For the original version on PRWeb visit: http://www.prweb.com/releases/cricket-world-cup/india-title-defence/prweb10979042.htm

Source: prweb

comments powered by Disqus