Last updated on April 24, 2014 at 17:35 EDT

Online Nominations for 2014 Fundamental Physics Prize

September 3, 2013

NEW YORK, September 3, 2013 /PRNewswire/ –

Three winners of the Physics Frontiers Prize will be announced this November and
become nominees for the 2014 $3 million Fundamental Physics Prize

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation announces today the opening of online
nomination website for its 2014 prizes. The rules and nomination form are available to the
public at http://www.fundamentalphysicsprize.org. Anyone can nominate a candidate
online and all submissions must be completed by a third party.

Nominations will be accepted through October 15, 2013.

The Foundation’s Selection Committee, which is composed of prior recipients of the
Fundamental Physics Prize, will choose three winners of the Physics Frontiers Prize from
among the nominees, and up to three winners of the New Horizons in Physics Prize. Those
winners will be announced in November 2013.

The following scientists comprise the Selection Committee for the 2014 prizes:

        - Nima Arkani-Hamed
        - Lyn Evans
        - Fabiola Gianotti
        - Alan Guth
        - Stephen Hawking
        - Joseph Incandela
        - Alexei Kitaev
        - Maxim Kontsevich
        - Andrei Linde
        - Juan Maldacena
        - Alexander Polyakov
        - Nathan Seiberg
        - Ashoke Sen
        - Edward Witten

The ultimate winner of the 2014 $3 million Fundamental Physics Prize will be chosen
from the three Physics Frontiers Prize laureates. The remaining Physics Frontiers Prize
laureates will receive a prize of $300,000 and will automatically be re-nominated for the
Fundamental Physics Prize each year for the next 5 years.

All prizes will be awarded for achievements in the field of fundamental physics, with
special attention to recent developments. The Fundamental Physics Prize and the Physics
Frontiers Prize recognize transformative advances in the field, while the New Horizons in
Physics Prize is targeted at promising junior researchers and is worth $100,000.

About the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation

The Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation established
by the Milner Foundation and dedicated to advancing our knowledge of the Universe at the
deepest level by awarding annual prizes for scientific breakthroughs, as well as
communicating the excitement of fundamental physics to the public. According to the
Foundation’s rules, laureates of all prizes are chosen by a Selection Committee, which is
comprised of prior recipients of the Fundamental Physics Prize.

Information on the Fundamental Physics Prize is available at:


For additional inquiries, contact: Leonid Solovyev -
Media@fundamentalphysicsprize.org – +44-7590-976-334

SOURCE Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation

Source: PR Newswire