August 12, 2008

NKOTB to Release New CD Next Month

The U.S. pop group New Kids on the Block is to release its first new album in nearly 15 years next month, Interscope Records said Monday.

"The Block" is set to drop Sept. 2, the label said.

Joey McIntyre, Donnie Wahlberg, Danny Wood, and Jordan and Jonathan Knight -- the original five members of the 1990s phenomenon NKOTB -- recently reunited to record the new album and are planning to go on tour to support it.

The CD will feature the group's latest hit single, "Summertime," as well as collaborations with some of the biggest names in pop music, Interscope said.

R&B star Ne-Yo appears on "Single," while The Pussycat Dolls and uber-producer Teddy Riley helped out on "Grown Man" and Akon is featured on "Put It on My Tab."

The CD also includes the track "Full Service," which the group recorded with New Edition.

NKOTB is supporting "The Block" with a tour that kicks off Sept. 18 in Toronto and is to continue through the end of November.