September 8, 2008

Epic Records and Hotel Cafe Set to Release Hotel Cafe Presents Winter Songs on October 14

In the year of the female singer-songwriter, Epic Records and Hotel Cafe have partnered up to release Hotel Cafe Presents Winter Songs - a compilation of both original recordings as well as classic holiday tracks sung by a lineup of female singer-songwriters including many who have been associated with Hotel Cafe including Sara Bareilles, Ingrid Michaelson, Brandi Carlile and KT Tunstall. The star-studded album, which will be released on October 14 will also feature an exclusive medley of the traditional folk song, "Auld Lang Syne" from which all proceeds will benefit Susan G. Komen For The Cure.

On making Hotel Cafe Presents Winter Songs, singer Sara Bareilles had this to say, "I honestly never thought I would ever be on a Holiday album, but when the idea of the Hotel Cafe putting one together came about, I was really excited. I was honored to be a part of a compilation showcasing the incredible female talent at the Cafe, and Ingrid Michaelson and I wrote a song specifically for this project. I'm really looking forward to sharing it. The entire album will be incredibly beautiful."

Once just a small coffee shop, The Hotel Cafe has quickly blossomed into not only one of the premier singer/songwriter venues in the United States, but also been labeled "the place that breaks artists." The artists surrounding The Hotel Cafe regard it as home. Instead of competition between musicians, many are there every night supporting one another or playing at each other's side. On Hotel Cafe Presents Winter Songs, this is exactly what these artists set out to do - support each other to produce a project they all believe in.

Included on this unique album are five incredible original recordings starting off with a stunning recording of "Winter Song," a gorgeous duet of which Sara Bareilles co-wrote and recorded with Ingrid Michaelson. Other originals include, "The Heartache Can Wait" which Brandi Carlile penned, "Misletoe" from Colbie Caillat, "All My Bells Are Ringing" from newcomer Lenka, and the sassy "Maybe Next Year (X-Mas Song,)" sung by Meiko.

Katy Perry adds her own rendition of the traditional, "White Christmas" while additional performances of the following holiday classics round out this extraordinary album; "Frosty The Snowman" sung by Fiona Apple, "I'll Be Home For Christmas" performed by Holly Conlan, "Christmas Song" delicately performed by Catherine Feeny, "Silver Bells" by R&B soulstress Alice Smith, "Blue Christmas" by Nicole Atkins, "Winter Wonderland" performed by Kate Havnevik, "Silent Night" softly sung by Priscilla Ahn, and a lively rendition of "Sleigh Ride" by KT Tunstall.

 The track listing is as follows: 1.  Sara Bareilles and Ingrid Michaelson - "Winter Song" 2.  Brandi Carlile - "The Heartache Can Wait" 3.  Lenka - "All My Bells Are Ringing" 4.  KT Tunstall - "Sleigh Ride" 5.  Alice Smith - "Silver Bells" 6.  Nicole Atkins - "Blue Christmas" 7.  Fiona Apple - "Frosty The Snowman" 8.  Meiko - "Maybe Next Year (X-Mas Song)" 9.  Holly Conlan - "I'll Be Home For Christmas" 10.  Katy Perry - "White Christmas" 11.  Colbie Caillat - "Misletoe" 12.  Priscilla Ahn - "Silent Night" 13.  Kate Havnevik - "Winter Wonderland" 14.  Catherine Feeny - "Christmas Song" 15.  Hotel Cafe Medley - Auld Lang Syne (Charity Medley)