December 16, 2008

‘Today’ primetime special planned

Matt Lauer, Meredith Vieira, Al Roker and Ann Curry have signed on for 2008: Today Looks Back, A Holiday Special, NBC announced in New York Tuesday.

The year-end, primetime program, featuring the anchors of the Today morning television show, is set to air Dec. 22 at 8 p.m., the network said.

On the special, the four hosts will review the top five news stories, the top five moving moments and the top five people of the past year. The program will also highlight the most unforgettable pop-culture stories of 2008, as well as funny out-takes and bloopers from the Today show, NBC said.

Today stars Natalie Morales, Kathie Lee Gifford, Hoda Kotb, Lester Holt, Amy Robach, Jenna Wolfe, Willard Scott and Gene Shalit are also expected to make appearances during the hour-long special.