Big Air in the Big Apple

February 6, 2009

NEW YORK, Feb. 6 /PRNewswire/ — Last night in New York City, 16 illustrious snowboarders from around the globe converged at the East River Park to fight for their share of the $100,000 Red Bull Snowscrapers prize purse. The riders dropped in from a towering nine-story structure that mirrored the dramatic New York skyline. In front of 20,000 fans, athletes such as Olympic gold medalist Shaun White and X Games Champion Travis Rice soared above the cityscape off a specially constructed ramp towards an immense 80-foot long landing area.


(Photo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20090206/LA67717-a)

(Photo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20090206/LA67717-b)




New Jersey’s own Shayne Pospisil, who started the contest as an alternate after another competitor was unable to compete due to injury, ended up grabbing first place and $50,000 by landing a backside 900 with a clean grab. “It all came together tonight. I landed all my runs,” said Pospisil after being carried away on the shoulders of the crowd. “Having all of my friends and family here is amazing. It’s a dream come true.” Finland’s Torstein Horgmo stuck a frontside 900 tailgrab to steal second place and third place went to another east coaster, New Hampshire’s own Scotty Lago, as he landed a backside 900. Earlier in the evening, snowboarding icon Terje Haakonsen of Norway dropped into the 90-foot tall ramp with his back foot unstrapped from the binding, pulling off a one-footed method air as he kicked his rear foot out, much to the appreciation of the roaring crowd. For his difficult, throwback-style trick, Haakonsen earned Best Trick honors for the night.




NYC’s own Anthrax, known for being the first group to combine heavy metal with rap music and the thrash metal scene, headlined the music stage. They were joined by Brooklyn’s indie-pop artists Black Gold and self-proclaimed rock n’ roll saviors Valient Thorr, capping off a truly high-voltage evening.




The fun doesn’t end here, because from February 16th-22nd (New York City’s public school vacation week), New York City residents can have their own opportunity to be a pro and ride the Red Bull Snowscrapers ramp. The ramp will be reconfigured into a 3-story skiing and snowboarding mountain right in the heart of NYC’s East River Park. Residents of all ages are welcome, and experts can bring their own equipment and shred on the freestyle features. An additional 150-foot long snow flume will also be on-site for sledding. Demo snowboards and sleds will be available on-site free of charge for beginners. Both the Red Bull Snowscrapers ramp and the snow flume will be open from 11:00am-4:00pm daily and are free to the public.




Red Bull Snowscrapers joined the ranks of the most prestigious snowboard events on the planet as a 5-Star stop on the SWATCH TTR World Snowboard Tour. The TTR crowns a World Snowboard Tour Champion at the culmination of each season and pays out an end-of-season prize purse worth $200,000.


For more information please visit www.RedBullSnowscrapers.com.



Founded by Terje Haakonsen and industry innovators in 2002, the SWATCH TTR World Snowboard Tour is a non-profit, rider-driven organization with the mission to create the highest quality competitive snowboard environment in the world, using authenticity, accessibility and innovation as guiding principles. Since its foundation, the SWATCH TTR Tour has developed into the most exposed snowboard tour worldwide featuring global grass root and key independent freestyle snowboarding events over a ten-month period from Southern to Northern Hemisphere locations. Events are rated via a 1-through-6Star system, with points allocated accordingly, a 6Star event holding the highest (1000 SWATCH TTR points). Any rider participating in these events, from up-and-coming to professional talent, earns ranking points and a position on the SWATCH TTR World Ranking List. The top male and female rider based on an average of their best seven results of the season is crowned SWATCH TTR World Snowboard Tour Champion.

    #1 - Shayne Pospisil         (bib#7)
    #2 - Torstein Horgmo         (bib#14)
    #3 - Scotty Lago             (bib#12)
    #4 - Travis Rice             (bib#10)
    #5 - Daniel Ek               (bib#9)
    #6 - Shaun White             (bib#13)
    #7 - Bjorn Leines            (bib#11)
    #8 - Terje Haakonsen         (bib#8)
    #9 - Dustin Craven           (bib#4)
    #10 - Mikkel Bang            (bib#15)
    #11 - Heikki Sorsa           (bib#16)
    #12 - Pat Moore              (bib#3)
    #13 - Eero Ettala            (bib#5)
    #14 - Andreas Wiig           (bib#6)
    #15 - Jack Mitrani           (bib#1)
    #16 - JJ Thomas              (bib#2)






Source: newswire

comments powered by Disqus