September 8, 2009

Six authors nominated for Booker Prize

Authors A.S. Byatt, J.M. Coetzee, Adam Foulds, Hilary Mantel, Simon Mawer and Sarah Waters have been nominated for Britain's Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The winner of the honor and an $83,000 cash award is to be announced at a ceremony in London Oct. 6.

Coetzee won the Booker Prize in 1983 for Life & Times of Michael K. and again in 1999 for Disgrace.

Byatt picked up the award for Possession in 1990.

We're thrilled to be able to announce such a strong shortlist, so enticing that it will certainly give us a headache when we come to select the winner, the BBC quoted Booker chair of judges James Naughtie as saying. The choice will be a difficult one. There is thundering narrative, great inventiveness, poetry and sharp human insight in abundance.

Byatt is nominated for The Children's Book; Coetzee for Summertime; Foulds for The Quickening Maze; Mantel for Wolf Hall; Mawer for The Glass Room; and Waters for The Little Stranger.

Aravind Adiga won the 2008 Booker Prize for The White Tiger.